Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

New Mosaics and Old Cars

Tuesday, Jun. 20, 2006
10:00 PM

Wow, it's been a really busy couple of weeks. It's hard to post updates when you barely get enough time to read all your email. Anyway, we've had a lot going on.

The coolest thing I've been doing (besides raising Tommy) is working with a friend on a large public mosaic commission. It's going on a fountain somewhere in Rockville. We're assembling it in a warehouse space in the back of a stained-glass shop in Chantilly. So far it's looking really good, except that we're going to have to futz with it because the builders used the wrong measurements when making the actual fountain. Um, duh. It's part time work, but it's flexible, the pay is pretty good - hell, it's way better than I was making as an admin assistant and way more fun too. I'm also taking on a table top commission for my friend because she has too many other things going on to do it herself. It's really boring but again, I'm getting paid a LOT. Woohoo! On top of all this mosaic goodness, it looks like Bonnie's lining up a second large commission for a new Whole Foods in Alexandria. If that pans out, I'll probably be working on that too. I am having a FABULOUS time!

That has been the most exciting stuff. Other than that, I've been puttering around the house, trying to get and keep it tidy, with varying degrees of success. I'm also working on a somewhat long term project of pulling recipes out of the huge stacks of Cooking Light magazines lying around and putting them in page protectors in binders. That way we might actually make some of them. I'm trying to finish up my knitted sweater coat so that I can get a jump on Christmas present knitting. And in the midst of all that is the cuteness that is Tommy.

We had a lovely Fathers' Day, despite the heat and humidity. We went to an antique car show at Sully Plantation, and it was really fun. I suggested it to Kevin sort of on a whim, and I'm really glad we went. There were over 400 cars there, from a 1910 Ford all the way up to 1970s muscle cars. My favorite was a gorgeous blue 1932 Plymouth. Beautiful! Kevin's favorite was a huge black 1939 Packard. We saw some really cool stuff.

We put a bunch of pics on our new Flickr account, but the site isn't loading for some reason. I'll post a link once I figure out what it is.

I have had two mild head colds right in a row, and while I haven't been that sick, I've been coughing my head off for about three weeks. It's really annoying, and if it doesn't clear up soon, I'm going to have to bite the bullet and go to the doctor. Grump.


ProfileDiaryland