Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

Snippets

Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2004
10:06 AM

Whoa - I can't believe it's been three weeks since I updated. And while I'm at it, where did half of September go?

Since three weeks is a long time to catch up on, and really, not that much has happened anyway, I'll just post some snippets of my life recently.


We went to my cousin's wedding two weekends ago. My cousin and his new wife are just out of college and so very cute. I'm wondering when the hell my cousin got old enough to get married. I remember when the kid was in diapers and it doesn't seem like that long ago. The wedding was very sweet (though naturally I liked mine better) and it was truly moving to watch Lacy wiping his eyes when the bride walked down the aisle. Reminded me of Kevin on our wedding day.


I am making good progress on Liz's mosaic - really pleased to see how it's coming together. I hope to have it finished up in the next couple of weeks. I've definitely got time to work on it while Bosslady is recovering from having her hip replaced. I've got to start the design drawings for my next project for Gary & Cindy. That should keep me busy for a while too - after that, I don't have anything lined up. Anyone else want a cool mosaic in their house? Come on, you know you do!


Monday I made my penultimate car payment. That's penultimate as in "next to last", not "really, really ultimate".


Kev and I went to Lochmere fight practice last night. It took about an hour to get there, which was less than I expected. When we got there, we found a bunch of guys hanging around in the hallway, and, upon learning that Kevin is a marshal, their eyes lit up and they all rushed off to get their armor. Guess our deciding to show up was a stroke of luck for them. They were so cute, I would have patted them on the head if I could.

I got a rapier lesson from the ever-patient Bob, plus some sparring time with Alice. I still feel a bit self-conscious about being a beginner, but I guess either that will pass or I'll get over it. I felt like apologizing because I suck and I know it. But (and this is probably going to sound snotty) it's been a long time since I've been really, really new at something in the SCA. And I've been around long enough to know how bad I am at this - when I really was new to the SCA, I thought I was the shit, because I didn't know any better.

This whole rapier thing is so new and different to me. I've been around various types of fighters for so long that I know a lot of what they think and feel, but never experienced it myself. Now I think I'm starting to understand the culture and mindset, which is comletely different from the Arts world (I know, duh). I feel a bit tentative, going outside my comfort zone, but I think it's a really good thing to do. Trying something new is a great way to beat boredom or burnout. I need a lot more practice, though - and armor! I need my own armor so I don't have to wear trigger loaner stuff that feels like I'm wearing a plastic bag.


I don't think I have a free weekend between now and the middle of November. There's a couple of Sundays with nothing scheduled, but no completely free weekends. Let's see... SCA event, SCA event in Ohio, SCA event, SCA event, SCA-related lecture/seminar, FLORENCE!! for the next three weekends, then... SCA event. I'm really glad we took August off, otherwise I wouldn't have the energy for all this.

Time flies when you're recounting random stuff from your life. I gotta go do my workout.

Ciao!


ProfileDiaryland