Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

All is strange and vague...

Thursday, Sept. 23, 2004
4:10 PM

Been a busy week, little time for anything but working, eating and trying to catch up with my life. Had a lovely time at Chalice, thankful for the reasonable weather and glad that everything went smoothly. I'd had some trouble wrapping my head around the concept but once I saw it working it was perfectly clear. Obviously I am just dense on occasion. =)



Does anybody know what band does that song about 1985 that's on the radio now? I'm sure there are people out there hipper than I am who will know. The band sounds familiar to me but I can't place it. Of course DJs don't tell you who does anything anymore. Only on the classic rock station and I already know most of those. Figures.


I had an odd thought while riding on the back of Kevin's bike the other day (nothing else to do but think; no music and conversation with the big guy is next to impossible). I was thinking about Sherlock Holme's fictional ability to deduce pieces of information about people based on their physical appearance or other personal characteristics, and how we now don't really have a chance to develop that ability thanks to increasing globalization. What was unusual or exotic in Victorian London is now commonplace in many corners of the world. A tanned face does not necessarily mean one has been serving in the army in India anymore; it could be a natural complexion or simply the result of time spent on a tanning bed. Thanks to retail chain stores, a particular type of shoes are no longer made by one person or shop that exhibits a unique style or mark. You can get Nikes anywhere.

On the other hand, we are much more likely now to be able to tell someone's personal philosophy or own self-image by the way they dress or do their hair or whatever. I guess my point is that the world is becoming more about the individual and less about the community or culture. Good or bad? I dunno. Just thoughts.

Why I was thinking about Sherlock Holmes on the back of a motorcycle, I don't know.


Tomorrow I'm off to the wilds of Ohio with Genevieve for the Known World Costuming Symposium. ("Are we dead?" "Or is this Ohio?" Bonus points to whoever can tell me where that comes from. Kevin is not eligible. But he gets bonus points anyway.) I'm a little surprised that there aren't that many classes that I'm dying to take. I'm also surprised that the offerings aren't that diverse to begin with. I guess my expectations were on the high side. Still, should be fun and I'm looking forward to the fashion show and cameraderie. A whole hotel full of costume geeks! I'll miss my sweetie, though.


Got lots to do before I leave tomorrow though. Ciao!


ProfileDiaryland