Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

Feelin' Groovy

Monday, Aug. 23, 2004
10:25 PM

I have been in a pretty amazingly good mood today. Amazingly good considering today was my first annual performance review with Bosslady. Hopefully it'll be my only annual review, but I currently have no plans to leave just yet. The review was pretty positive overall, and I have to say that our working relationship has improved greatly over the summer. Not sure why, but I'm not knocking it.


I had a fantastic weekend that was largely characterized by lots of quality time with friends. I remember at least three instances of laughing really, really hard - once so hard I was crying and couldn't breathe.


Kevin, Rich, Genie and I were watching the men's beach volleyball on the Olympics, and one of the US players was named Dax Holdren (or Holden or something).

Kevin turns to me and says, "Can we name our first son Dax?"

I look at him incredulously. "Dax Maxson?"

And it went downhill from there. Starship Captain, Dax Maxson! No, better, Dr. Dax Maxson! Captain Dr. Dax Maxson!! Complete with double finger guns how-you-doin' gestures. I guess you had to be there, but it was freakin' hilarious at the time. I haven't had the giggles like that in a long time.


In other news, I am taking up fencing. Kevin is teaching me and we're practicing in the backyard for now. We even conned Rich & Genie into playing with us over the weekend and MAN was that FUN! For now we're going at a pretty slow speed and I'm just wearing jeans and a really heavy sweatshirt - gotta get working on my doublet. Anyway, I know I'm in that just-beginning-boy-don't-I-suck stage, but I don't care. I'm having a ball.


The other part of my weekend was spent working on learning Italian. We have our tickets for our trip to Florence in October and I can't wait! We spent a while in the bookstore looking for a good book or CD on learning Italian, finally settled on a CD-ROM set that scared us a little at first. The idea behind it is an immersion sort of thing, but even the beginner CD was way over our heads. Finally we figured out that the last CD was actually the very elementary stuff - learning basic vocabulary, verbs, etc. The cool thing is that it's voice recognition software, so we can work on our pronunciation. I know I won't be fluent or anything, but I should be more confident with it and get a better feel for the grammar.

Well, it's late and I have to work tomorrow. Looking forward to more Pennsic stories!


ProfileDiaryland