Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

Assessment of the Weekend

Monday, Jul. 14, 2003
4:29 PM

"Something something something, eh, whoever?"

What an amazingly lovely weekend! It was relaxing, laid-back and calm. Kevin and I made it out the door in pretty much record time on Friday, some days that's a major accomplishment. We headed down to spend the night at my parents' house, which is about an hour and fifteen minutes from the Assessments site. Got there in plenty of time for dinner, which was fabu as always. My mom is an excellent cook - fresh fruits and veggies, grilled meat of some kind or another, and mostly guilt-free dessert. OK, the homemade peach ice cream was probably not the best for my waistline but DAMN it was good!


Got plenty of cuddly niece time, which is always good. Cailin is bigger every time I see her, and more developed in her motor skills and more aware of what's going on around her. Big blue eyes and red hair, which is starting to fall out. I'm curious as to what color it will be when it grows back in.


Got up Saturday morning to absolutely gorgeous weather. Clear sky, low humidity and reasonable temps. We had a lovely drive over the mountain to Buena Vista (pronounced byoo-na, not bway-na... gotta love rural central VA) and I was almost sorry to get to the event. But I had a really nice time, hanging out with Kyna and Padraigin and Sorcha all day. (P and S and I apparently all got the same memo about wearing green dresses...) There was a really nice lunch prepared for Her Highness and whoever she invited, which turned out to be pretty much all the ladies at the event. We sat on the second story of the open pavilion, enjoying the cooling breezes that came sweeping through. It was so nice and relaxing.

I had hoped to be able to stay for court and for Kenny and Freddy becoming Alan's cadets. Unfortunately, it looked like things were going to be running late and we needed to get back to my parents' for dinner. We said our goodbyes and headed for home, tired but happy. We did have a couple of concerns on our minds, the injured fighters among them, but overall it was a really good day.


We got home, took showers and had another yummy dinner. Stayed up chatting for a while and got to sample some more homemade ice cream - low fat chocolate this time. Just as tasty as the peach and even less guilt. Then we pretty much sacked out.

Sunday morning I woke up to say goodbye to my mom and my sister, who were taking my niece to see her other grandma. Read the paper over a leisurely cup of coffee and then my dad and Kevin and I made breakfast together. We hung out with Dad for a while - he showed us his current projects (which are really cool) and told us about a course he's teaching in August at an arts school in Indiana. It was kind of tough to leave but we did eventually come back home. Ended the day with a trip out to fight practice (fencing for Kevin, schmoozing for me) and then we came back and got on the bike to go out to dinner. It was a beautiful night for a bike ride and a perfect end to a delightful weekend.


That's my weekend update. This week I'm planning to keep plugging away at that display board, hopefully I'll get it done by the end of the week but we'll see. I got another crackheaded idea this weekend, but it'll have to wait until after Pennsic for me to really get started on it. Actually I have a number of crackheaded ideas but what else is new?

Gotta run, need to think about rounding up some dinner before the Thornbury bus heads up to fight practice.

Ciao!


ProfileDiaryland