Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

Some Levity while Babysitting the A/C Repairman

Thursday, Jul. 17, 2003
1:26 PM

I am sitting here hanging out while the nice United Air Temp man fixes our A/C. I noticed it was on the fritz yesterday when it was 80 degrees in the house at 10:00 am and the fan wouldn't come on. Turns out the breaker blew. Why, you ask? Well, in layman's terms, the wiring is fried. Crispy. I'm sure it's original to the house (built in 1986) so it's not a huge surprise. I am, however, very grateful for the fact that it's not 95 degrees and 90% humidity today. But we should have lovely air conditioned goodness by later this afternoon.


The mosaic display board is coming along pretty well. I am deliberately using a simple design so it will go faster. It will also look good with a variety of materials - vitreous glass, beach glass, unglazed ceramic, etc. Actually I guess those are the only three I'm using. That's OK, I think if I threw in anything else it would be a mess. It still won't be finished until next week, but I'm not sweating it too much. As I've said, probably too often, I'm not getting paid for it.


I'm thinking that I'm going to finish up the display board and then spend the rest of the time before Pennsic sewing. I'm not really panicking but I do have some stuff I want to get done, and just taking a chunk of time to zip through it seems the best way to get it all done.


Regan is amazingly cute when she howls like Zephyr. So far this new habit has not failed to make me smile.


And now, some extremely silly questions from Alejandro and some extremely silly answers from me:

Dude. 5 Silly Questions, dude. 1) Ever make medieval lingerie? Not underwear, LINGERIE.

Does a corset count? If so then yes (twice). If not - well, there's the Tudor shift that I made which is cut a little too low to be decent, by itself. I'm reasonably sure Kevin could come up with some ideas for good medieval lingerie...

2) If you suddenly inheirited one ton of coleslaw, what would you do with it?

Wow, a ton is a lot of coleslaw. I'd save some of it for Kevin, of course, because he likes it. I'd freeze some for later, too. That leaves the other 1,995 pounds... Perhaps I'd start a new sport, coleslaw wrestling. Think about it, it's kind of slimy, it could work. I hate to think about where all the little bits of carrot and cabbage would go, though.

3) Do you know how to spell 'inheirited', 'cuz I sure don't.

I believe it is "inherited" but I didn't double check the dictionary.

4) Do you know how to say anything rude in Italian? Well SHARE! We wanna know.

No, I only know how to say "Do you have any cough syrup?" (Avete scirropo per la tosse?) but I guess if you look snooty enough while saying it it could be perceived as being rude. Babelfish will translate curse words but I have no way of verifying if their translation is good.

5) Would you bail Sorcha out of jail if she beat up Condoleeza Rice with a wiffle bat? How would you handle the press?

Absolutely! I would bail Sorcha out of jail for beating up anybody with a wiffle bat. I'd probably have to consult with Andrew on how to handle the press, though. Maybe we'd take the Mariah Carey approach: "She's just exhausted, she's not really a complete wacko. That? That wasn't a mental breakdown, she just needs some rest."

Ciao! (No offense...)


ProfileDiaryland