Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

Friday musings

Friday, Jul. 11, 2003
9:32 AM

This has been one of those weeks where I'm not sure where the time has gone. I haven't really gotten a whole lot done - even though I have plenty to do. I think that's because I don't have deadlines for all of my projects, and Pennsic is still a month away. Yes, I work better at the last minute... but it doesn't help my stress levels. Sheesh. I also tend to get overwhelmed and don't know where to start when I have so much to do. Most of my projects don't really have priority over the others, which doesn't help. I do have to work on this stupid display board for Michaels but it's not a paying job so it's hard to get motivated.


Well, at least I can get ready for Assessments. We're heading down to my parents' this afternoon when Kevin gets home and spending the night there. They live only a little more than an hour from the site so it will certainly be easier to get there early on Saturday morning. And I get to see my niece! I understand she has discovered her toes. Can't wait to see her. I should get to the laundry and packing forthwith.


I'm working away on my class handout for Pennsic - the Daily Life in Florence one. I have a stack of books I want to read thoroughly before I do all this, but I'm going to wind up skimming some of them for pertinent information, just because I'm going to run out of time. I wish I either were a speed-reader or had an extra brain that I could plug a scanner into. I want to be able to answer any questions that come up, or at least be able to refer people to appropriate sources. Well, I still have a month, right?


Can I rant for just a second? Three years ago I started a costumers guild. I had a bunch of people express interest, we had some reasonable goals for things we wanted to do, we put together a fairly relaxed charter - no stringent requirements or ranking systems or anything that would cause undue stress. Now apathy reigns supreme. Now, it seems that I am the only person in the guild who's still trying to get anything done. I just tried putting together a costuming track for University - and I was the only guild member with a class in it. The rest of the classes came from other members of the kingdom. At KASF in March, I was the only member to bring things for a guild display - even though it had been discussed in depth on our email list. I've tried pleading with the group, I've tried expressing my frustration, and I don't know what to do next besides disband the group. I don't see the point of having a guild that doesn't do anything. There have certainly been times when I didn't have the time or energy to keep the ball rolling, so I do feel that part of the lack of momentum is my fault. Maybe I should see if someone else wants to take over as guild head, maybe some fresh blood would get things going again. And if nobody wants to do it, then it'll be time to just declare the guild dead. I hate to do that - it's kind of my baby, after all... but it's practically a brain-dead vegetable anyway. I don't want to give up, but I feel like I'm banging my head against the wall.

Anyone have any advice for me?


Well, I'm out - laundry calls.

Ciao!


ProfileDiaryland