Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

Weekend at the Beach, or, I hate freakin jellyfish

Monday, Jul. 07, 2003
1:41 PM

I had forgotten that sometimes it's nice to get away on a vacation that has nothing whatsoever to do with the SCA...

A whole bunch of us took over Genie's house in Norfolk for the holiday weekend. As Jason remarked, at one point it looked like a Kay-Bee store had exploded in there. I think he was referring just to the kids' toys, but there were plenty of Mek warrior things and frisbees and other stuff the bigger kids were playing with too. There was ping-pong in the backyard; frisbee, football and something that was kind of like ping-pong without the table at the beach; and Taboo and Cranium on the living room floor late at night when we were all too tired to really be able to play those games well (I gave up on Cranium when I started getting cranky and went to bed).

It had been a long time since I'd been to the actual beach - probably seven or eight years. We went down there Friday night to watch the fireworks, wading in the surf for a little bit (some of us wading in a little farther than others) and feeling sand under our feet. Then we went back Saturday afternoon for a real swim and more games. I had a great time, I love swimming in the ocean (or bay in this case) and the water felt wonderful since it was so hot out. Unfortunately my frolicking was cut short by an untimely encounter with a jellyfish. I got stung on my left leg, which was painful for a while and then just annoying. When we got back to the house (after collecting beach glass and shells for mosaics), we looked up jellyfish sting remedies on the internet and found that you are supposed to put vinegar on the affected area. The only kind Genie had was balsamic, so I ended up smelling like a Greek salad, prompting Rich to remark that he felt like cutting up tomatoes and feta cheese and throwing them on me. Perhaps this was also because it was dinner time and we were trying to decide what to eat. Anyway, the vinegar did seem to help somewhat, so for whatever it's worth...


I am sort of amused today by all the Dante references on Diaryland, namely from elsworthy and masterlemyng. Over the weekend when I found myself in need of some quiet me-time activity, I raided Genie's bookshelf. I have a list of period Italian literature that I've been wanting to read, and The Divine Comedy, of course, is right up there. I noted that Genie owned a copy so I happily settled down with it. I just thought it was a very strange coincidence to see random references to the very work that I've just started on.


I'm having a sort of introspective day, so I could ramble on for a while, but unfortunately I've also gotten nothing done. I need to do some laundry and finish up Shannon's lazy Susan. I should also be gathering up materials for a display project for Michael's, but as it's not technically a paying job, I'm not feeling totally motivated.


I forgot to post this first result last week, so here it is, along with the one I did this morning.

phlegmatic
You are Phlegmatic. You have a peace-loving
nature, and make a good listener and a faithful
friend. You do have a tendency to be selfish
and stubborn in your worst moments, and your
worrying can lean towards paranoia. Phlegmatics
should consider careers as accountants,
diplomats, engineers, and administrators. You
are a somewhat reluctant leader, but your
practicality and steady nerve under pressure
makes you a natural choice for leadership
roles.



Which of the Humours are you?
brought to you by Quizilla



With Which Harry Potter Male Are You Most Sexually Compatible?

brought to you by Quizilla


I don't think it's coincidence that Kevin dressed up as Hagrid last Halloween.


ProfileDiaryland