Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

Questions and Answers

Friday, Jun. 06, 2003
2:02 PM

Taking a break from putting together my handouts for my two classes at University tomorrow... I am just about done with the text but have a ton of graphics to hunt down and stick in the document, then format. I like to illustrate my points with lots of pictures and usually don't know when to quit. There are just so many cool paintings out there and I want to show them all to my students! I guess one or two will do to show what I'm talking about. I just like to play Show n' Tell... I'll have to narrow down the number of books I want to take and show as well. Kevin will thank me for not breaking his back (again).

I am teaching Interpreting Garb from Period Sources and Clothing in Quattrocento Florence. The former is a class I taught a couple of years ago but haven't in a while; the latter is a dry run for one of my Pennsic classes. I wish I could do a dry run for the second one too, but I'm not nearly as ready to teach it so that'll have to wait. That's fine, I have my hands full right now anyway. I'm glad to be teaching again - I haven't done it in a while and I know Ysolt has had a bunch of cancellations for this session, so she needs some classes to fill in. I love University! I'm so glad we get to do it three times a year. =)


That's been mostly what I've been doing this week - I had some other things I wanted to get done, but I wasn't feeling well Monday afternoon (thought I was going to have to have a chat with the porcelain goddess - thankfully she didn't want to talk to me) and then I slept half the day on Tuesday. I know that if I fall asleep on the couch for two and a half hours that my body needs the rest. Not sure what that was all about, but fortunately it wasn't severe and didn't last long.


I was debating about whether or not to answer Anne's questions - while they are generally positive, some of them are pretty personal. It is tough for me to open up in that way, especially in a public forum. But I decided that it would be good for me. So here goes:

What happened on your happiest day?

My happiest day was shortly after Kevin and I got back together. We spent the weekend at a little B&B in Middleburg - beautiful place, nice quaint small town. We spent a lot of "us" time, just relaxing and getting past the difficult time we had been through that year. It helped us reconnect as a couple and bonded us more closely together.

How many people do you genuinely love?

Six. All but one are related to me by blood. That's not to say I don't love my friends - but as MistressRhi said, there are different ways of loving people. I have a different kind of love for my friends - my love for my family is on a different level.

Do you like the same people?

Yes, absolutely.

Who has influenced you most? Was it by a positive or negative example?

My mother - definitely positive. My mom is one of the most grounded, most intelligent, most gracious people I know. She is very wise, not prone to hysterics or drama and has always encouraged me to follow my dreams. I hope to be like her someday.

If you were told you could never do something again...which thing would hurt the most to lose?

Kevin. If I could never see or be with Kevin again, I don't know what I would do. I am tearing up just thinking about it.

What makes you laugh?

Regan makes me laugh when she makes fish faces.

What brings you peace?

Listening to Songs from the Rain by Hothouse Flowers. I rarely listen to this CD anymore except when I am troubled or depressed. It is comforting and soothing and makes me let go of my problems for a while.

What talents do you bring to this world?

I am told I have some artistic talent. I don't see it all the time, but I'm working on developing it and nurturing my sense of design. I can write pretty well too.

If you could live in financial comfort anywhere....where would it be?

Italy of course! But with all my friends.

If it were your "last week" what would you do? With whom?

Spend time with my family and friends, and make sure they all knew how I felt about them and that I was grateful to have them in my life. Oh, and I'd give away all my books - friends get the first pick and the rest go to a public library.

If you could give up an honor and give it to someone else, who would it be?

I would give up my Golden Dolphin to Kimmie. She works her butt off and does much harder and nastier stuff than I've ever done.

When is the last time you "made someone's day?" What did you do?

I think I made Kevin's day not too long ago, but that's WAY more personal than I want to get here!

When was the last time you said...

"I was wrong?"

I don't remember specifically, but I'm sure it wasn't that long ago - I do try to admit it when I'm wrong!

"I love you?"

Last night, before bed.

"Thank you?"

Probably also last night - I make it a point to thank my sweetie when he does something for me.


OK, back to the mad hunt for graphics... See some of y'all tomorrow!

Ciao!


ProfileDiaryland