Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

Yeah, that's me, trying to pull a fast one

Friday, May. 30, 2003
1:25 PM

I have to say that I've generally been happily oblivious to the drama that has been affecting so many of my friends. I'm bummed that my friends are going through a tough time, but as with many things, time will smooth it over. But, I must say I don't feel the need to know all the gory details. I just don't need to make the drama mine, I have enough in my life as it is - or at least in my family, which is almost the same thing. I hope things get better for my friends soon, though. Hugs all around.


The most moronic thing happened to me today. I took my car to a service station for an oil change and belt inspection. When all was said and done, I took my invoice to the cashier to pay for the oil filter. I handed her my bank/debit card, which has written on the signature space, "ASK FOR ID". My credit card has this also. Most people don't bother to check so I'm always grateful to those who do. However, this person took it a step farther.

She asked for my ID, so I gave her my driver's license. She then said, (and I am not making this up) "How do I know this is really you, that it isn't fake?"

I looked at her, flabbergasted, for a moment, and then said something dumb like, "It's my driver's license, isn't that good enough?" Obviously, it wasn't. She repeated, "How do I know it isn't fake? Lots of people come in here with fake IDs."

I started pulling out other IDs, my credit card, my Library of Congress card, even. "What more ID do you want?" I asked, getting a little cranky by this point. "My driver's license isn't fake, it's a valid ID!"

She started getting cranky back. "I'm just doing what you asked me to do, check your ID," she says. I realize the absurdity of the whole thing and point out to her that if I wrote "ASK FOR ID" on my bank card, I wouldn't be stupid enough to present a fake ID! What would be the point? I guess she thought I stole the bank card and then made a fake ID so I could use it. It was annoying in the extreme - I've never been hassled like that. Mental note: next time, pay in cash. =P


I'm tidying up the house this afternoon in preparation for my mom's imminent arrival. She and my sister are staying the night with us and then going to a quilt show tomorrow. I am eagerly anticipating lots of time spent playing with my niece. Tomorrow we're hanging out and cooking Greek food with Rob, Wendy, Liz and Mike. Should be big fun.


Well, the kitchen needs some attention so I should go continue on with the tidying effort. Nothing gets you motivated like a visit from your mother. =)

Ciao!


ProfileDiaryland