Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

Ow, my ass!

Monday, Apr. 14, 2003
5:36 PM

It looks like spring is back, thankfully. I hope it sticks around this time.

We had a really nice weekend - well balanced between productivity and fun. Friday night we watched the new Harry Potter DVD. We slept in a little Saturday and then I ran a bunch of errands while Kevin did his taxes. I did mine a few weeks ago - not shockingly, we both get refunds this year. The past few years I had to pay but being un/self-employed kinda makes the difference. Puttered around the house a bit during the afternoon and then we went to dinner at Don Pablo's (we had a coupon). Lovely evening for a ride on the bike.

Sunday morning Kevin went to church for Palm Sunday and then we headed up to MD for brunch with Gen and Alan. We arrived a little late but well-timed as food was just done. Bacon, sausage, eggs, pancakes & biscuits, very yummmy! We admired the new fishpond in the yard and hung out chatting for a few hours, which was really nice. We don't get to see our MD friends as much as we used to so it's always nice when we can have a chance to catch up and reconnect.

Next on our itinerary was Richmond, where we met up with Rich & Genie - had dinner with Genie and then went to watch Rich's hockey game. It was much fun, I had never seen a live game before and I think I have a new appreciation for it. I had Genie and Kevin to explain things I didn't understand so that was a big help. Had a great time - oh, and Rich's team won 5-3 so they go on to the finals tonight. Yay!

We hit TGIFriday's for a snack and then back to Rich's place to crash. Kev made me and Genie breakfast this morning and then we hit the road to head home. It's been beautiful weather for riding but I think my ass has had enough for a few days. Something I never thought about before riding on a motorcycle is how sore your butt gets after you've been on the bike for a while.

I have two classes this week at Michaels - one is a continuation of last week's celestial theme box class and the other is the basic Mosaic 101 class. I'm teaching at two locations now, which means more money. Yay! So far classes are going pretty well, I'm sort of fine tuning as I go along. I've only had one "problem child" and she was more clueless and not good at listening than evil. No biggie.

I have a bunch of projects either in progress or in the planning stages - I'm going to really try to finish up a few things this week. It would be really nice to delete a few things off the list I have on my desktop. Some of them are costuming things, some are mosaic things, some are just random stuff I want to get around to doing. Then there's a separate section for Sapphire/Pennsic stuff, but we won't go there. I'm still working on my blue wool cioppa - it had some issues and I wasn't happy with it so I took it apart and am in the process of fixing it. Should be much better when I'm done. Probably will be too hot to wear it by the time it's finished, but oh well... I'd like to make the headdress to go with it and then some stuff for Kevin. I have pipe dreams of making a new gamurra and giornea for Crown tourney (blue and gold of course) but I don't know if that's going to happen. I have some mundane clothes I want to make too.

Well, I should go make a dent in my email and then get to work on finishing some of these projects. And make dinner!

Ciao!


ProfileDiaryland