Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

Spy Dogs

Thursday, Apr. 03, 2003
5:55 PM

It is a beautiful day... eighty degrees and sunny. Perfect... and yet, I am inside on the couch, sniffling and sneezing like a... well, like a person with a cold. I shouldn't complain too much - it's not a very bad cold as these things go. I've had much worse. And I expect the worst of it will be over by tomorrow. But still...


One year ago today I was laid off from WorldCom. To say it was a life-changing thing is an understatement. Obviously, there are good and bad aspects to it. I'm not working in a boring tedious job I hate anymore. I'm not working with a bunch of guys who are, shall we say, less than mature. (I should say, to be fair, that a couple of my co-workers were pretty cool people. They were in the minority though.) I got the opportunity to do what I really wanted to do, even though I'm starting from scratch. On the other hand, not having a steady job and the resulting paycheck soundly bites. Not having a regular schedule also makes it hard to stay on track. All in all, though, I'm glad not to be working at WorldCom - or at any other office job. I have a long way to go on my business, still have a lot to learn, but I can't imagine doing anything else.

That said, I applied for a job the other day. It's not a big career thing, it's just a job to help pay the bills. I don't know whether I'll get it or not but we'll see. I don't want to say too much about it just yet.


On a lighter note, I am watching the dogs next door. The house behind ours has two dogs, who get let out to play in the yard several times a day. Kevin has named them both since we don't know what their real names are. There's Secret Agent Dog, a Jack Russell who manages to get out of their fenced yard and goes running around the neighborhood. We can't figure out how he gets out, we've never actually seen him do it. We'll just see him zip through our yard on his way somewhere. He must be on highly secret missions. I saw him in a neighbor's yard on the corner of our street the other day - I guess he was on a recon mission of some sort. Then there's Lookout Dog, a black Lab-ish looking guy who's too big to get out. We figure he's keeping an eye the people so he can warn Secret Agent Dog when someone's coming. I'm sure they're trying to save the neighborhood from imminent danger, maybe an influx of squirrels. They're both really cute dogs and best of all, never bark. We're keeping an eye on them though.


Tomorrow I'm going fabric shopping with Shannon and Sue. I found out JoAnn's is having a sale on their linen and "linen look" fabric. I might actually splurge a little and buy some - depending on what we can find. Mostly I'll be serving as independent consultant though. Always fun to go fabric shopping and convince other people to spend money. =) I do need some to line a cioppa for Kevin though.

I'm out...


ProfileDiaryland