Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

I have Grout under my Fingernails

Monday, Sept. 16, 2002
5:55 PM

I am trying to think of something witty or at least slightly amusing to start off this entry... but my brain is failing me. Oh well, it's not the first time, won't be the last. ;-)


I had a pretty good weekend, fortunately. Started off Friday evening with a girls'-night-out dinner in honor of the lovely Susie. Had a great time sitting and chatting with all the ladies, food was good too. I kind of went "eep" at the bill and I promptly realized that I was too broke to go dancing (wasn't dressed for it anyway, no knee-high black boots). Sigh. But it sounds like a good time was had by all.


Saturday Kevin and I went to the Sugar Loaf Craft Festival in Manassas. I went mainly to scope out the mosaic competition and check out what sorts of things people were doing, pricing, etc. Well, the only thing I really learned was that there were no mosaic artists exhibiting there. So that's good in one way, since it means that if I decide to apply to exhibit there next year, I won't have much, if any, competition. Didn't help with learning about pricing, though. Oh well. I saw some really nice things, probably the best exhibitor was a guy who makes icons - they were absolutely beautiful! Saw lots of other stuff that could politely be termed as, hmm... kitsch. (If I weren't being polite, I'd call it crap.) So, not exactly a waste of an afternoon, but not exactly what I'd hoped. We're going to the Occoquan Craft Fair in a couple of weeks for basically the same reason, don't know what we'll turn up there.


Speaking of craft fairs, I am applying to exhibit in one here in Herndon. It's the Fall Folk Festival (or something), on October 13. It is a juried show, but they've extended the deadline for entries because they don't have enough people. So maybe they'll give me a break and let me in. I could seriously deal with making some money right about now. So I've got to get cracking and send them my application and pictures of my stuff. If I get in, I'll need to work my butt off making enough things for stock. Wish me luck!


Yesterday was pretty lazy. I spent most of the afternoon grouting. I had a bunch of pieces that needed to be grouted, so I did them all at once. Grouting is a messy process, but when it's done it really pulls the whole piece together. I had planned to go to the Ponte Alto picnic, but it was kind of drizzly and I really needed to get the grouting done. It felt pretty good to be productive. Then Kevin came home, we watched the Harry Potter DVD and he made yummy fajitas for dinner. Those of you who have never had Kevin's fajitas, well, hopefully someday you will. =)


I grouted one more thing today and then spent most of the time cleaning pieces. Worked a little on the backsplash I'm doing for my parents, rattled some ideas for new projects around in my head. I have a big project that I'm hoping to get done for University so I can put it in the glass display. I'm spending a lot of money on materials so hopefully I can sell it later. It will be really cool when it's done - I'm going to have to work really fast to get it done in time.

Yoiks... better not go there, or else I'll start thinking about all the other stuff I need to do and then I'll just freak out. I have to work really hard at not feeling overwhelmed sometimes.


Something I would like to know... when the hell is the next Harry Potter book coming out??


ProfileDiaryland