Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

Coronation weekend

Monday, Sept. 09, 2002
6:46 PM

Coronation this weekend was lovely - the event itself went really really well. I wish I could say I had a better time - though parts of my day were very nice. Other parts kind of sucked. So to sum up, I'll do the good old Best and Worst.


Best:

Seeing friends receive well-deserved awards. I would list them but I'm sure I'd forget somebody, and well, you all know who you are anyway. =) Congrats to everybody.

Getting to chat with people I don't get to see often enough, like Anne, Nia, Ysolt, Mairghread, Colin... And getting to spend time with folks closer to me, like Lucia and Miles.

Kevin having a really good day fighting. I am so proud of him.

A very yummy, though totally modern, feast - by then I was so hungry I wasn't going to quibble about authenticity. I had seconds on the steak.

A really, really CHEAP motel! No, it wasn't the Ritz, but it didn't suck either. Though apparently our room had been remodelled more recently than some of the others...

A potential commission from Sir Christian and his lovely lady, and getting to spend a little time chatting with them. They are such sweet people.

Worst:

Entering the Tempore Atlantia competition with something kind of new and different and getting NO comments on it whatsoever (aside from the one judging sheet). Bah.

The heat. I know, it wasn't as bad as Pennsic, but I eventually had to escape back to the hall and the A/C. My heat tolerance is shot.

The really long evening court. I was starving and had a headache by the time it was over. Oh yeah, and my ass hurt from sitting on the wooden bench for an hour and a half.

Not getting to chat enough with people that I wanted to, like Francesca and Nikulai (understandable, though).

Frustration with the award system in the SCA and particularly this kingdom. But that is a completely different can of worms.


So, I can't say that I had a terrible time. I did have some really good parts to my day - but I had some not so good ones too. Sunday was overall a much better day. I had cinnamon French toast at IHOP for breakfast/lunch and we stopped by Bob and Bonnie's in Richmond on the way home. We had a wonderful time there, just kicked back and chilled out, had a great talk with Robear about some stuff and slurped some yummy soup that he whipped up while we were hanging out. I left there feeling much better than I did when I arrived. Love those guys. =)

Today I've basically been a slug, just catching up on email, reading, planning some projects. I've really got to get my ass in gear as far as making some money. Need to finish some projects, scope out real opportunities for selling stuff - or else get a part time job. Not something I really want to do, since that would take time away from my business but I am feeling distinctly broke. Anybody want to commission work from me? You get to be shameless when you have no money. ;-)


Well, that's about enough out of me. I'm going to do some more reading, maybe some puttering around in my studio. I got a bunch of new glass tiles to play with, of course they arrived just before we left on Friday. Figures.


ProfileDiaryland