Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

What do you mean, there are no gores in this skirt?

Friday, Sept. 20, 2002
8:29 AM

So this week I've been doing something that feels very odd. (Besides getting up early this morning.) I've been sewing a mundane skirt from a mundane pattern. *gasp* I know, it's weird. For one thing, it was so freakin' easy. They give you instructions in those envelopes! For another, it only required one (1) yard of fabric! And it didn't matter if it was polyester! Here's the real kicker: it has darts and a zipper! Can't remember the last time I used either of those. It actually took me a while to remember how to sew the zipper in. I did manage, fortunately. I finished it last night (with only an hour or so of sewing for three nights) so now I have a nice, dark tealy colored, Ultrasuede wanna-be skirt to wear to David and Susie's wedding tomorrow. I honestly can't remember the last time I sewed something where I didn't worry about whether the fabric was period, pay through the nose for 8 yards of it, or ponder whether I should hand-sew the entire thing. I'm going to have to do more of this mundane sewing stuff. =)


There hasn't really been much else happening this week. I'm making progress on the backsplash that I'm doing for my parents. I'm hoping to have a significent chunk of it done by the time they come up next week. I'm taking them to the airport for their trip to Italy. (I'm so jealous, I want to go back!) I'm also trying to get my photos together to submit for the Herndon Folk Festival craft fair thingy. Kevin has been playing with the picture files and we're going to set up the dayshade this morning as my "booth" so we can take pictures of that. You have to submit one picture of your display area. So, we'll get that done and then I'll drop of my application. Then we'll see.


I've just remembered more stuff that needs to get done today so I'd better go and do some work now.

Ciao!


ProfileDiaryland