Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

Best husband

Friday, Dec. 17, 2004
7:25 PM

Second entry for today...

I have the best husband ever.

So today I had to go to work, although I was not originally scheduled to work. We got a study report that had to be copied in triplicate to be submitted to the EPA. (don't bother asking why, it's really boring) Doesn't sound like that big a deal, but the report included the raw data from the study, which means a stack of documents literally a foot high. Guess who gets to do that job? Not only that, but the data from each sampling site is in its own (not very neatly)labeled folder, and thus, the copies in triplicate have to be in folders as well.

So off I go to Kinko's, after waiting for Bosslady to call with various details, to see if the nice Kinko's people will do the copying and labeling of folders for me. They will, but it won't be ready until Monday. I call Bosslady and ask if this is acceptable. It is not; she is certain they will mess it up and she would feel better if I do it myself. Bosslady has probably never stood at Kinko's for three hours and would not understand the reason for the words that are issuing forth from under my breath. I call my sweetie and whine for a few minutes and then get to copying.

Did I mention that I got to Kinko's around 12:30? Yeah, so I'm copying 50 million pieces of paper and I'm hungry. I'm grumpy about having to work on a day I was supposed to have off, and did I mention I was hungry? A half an hour goes by...

Somewhere in the second folder of data, I look up, and there's my sweetie, walking into Kinko's to keep me company. I can't tell you how awesome that was. My whole day turned around right there. It wasn't like he could do that much to help, since copying's pretty much a one person job, although he did help with what he could. But just having him there to chat with me and grab a soda for me and pull up a chair made the three hours go so much faster. Today was his flex day and we'd planned to spend the day together, doing Christmas shopping and various errands, just hanging out together. I wouldn't have chosen to spend time with my husband in a Kinko's all afternoon, but it's miles better than doing it all by myself. He could have done any number of things with his day off, but he came all the way out to Fairfax to hang out in a Kinko's with me. That's love.

We got lunch once we were done, then he followed me back to Bosslady's house to help me haul the boxes of copies upstairs. Now we are home and relaxing after what could have been a really crappy day. Sure, there's about a billion places I'd rather have been, but at least I was with my sweetie.

I have the best husband ever.


ProfileDiaryland