Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

Charlie the Fish Trivet and other Holiday Preparations

Monday, Dec. 23, 2002
11:32 AM

Whew, been busy over the past week or two. Friday I finished up my Christmas shopping (love the World Market!) and hung out with Shannon and Regan during the afternoon. I was kind of working on making an Italian hat for Kevin, but really, I was just playing with the baby. Got to watch her for a hour or so while Shannon took Zephyr to get her rabies vaccination. Then dinner and conversation at Jason and Shannon's that evening. It's nice to spend time with friends, especially nice to get out of the house and have some chatting time while Kevin is working. Poor guy, he's been working so much and we haven't had much time to spend together this month. But making money is good too so we can't complain too much.

He actually got Saturday off but sadly I spent most of the weekend in my workshop, madly working on a commission. It was due on Friday but the tiles that I ordered for it didn't show up until that day. It is almost done and as soon as I clean it up and seal the grout I can deliver it to my client (who fortunately also lives in Herndon). But this meant that I still didn't get much time to spend with my sweetie. I am looking forward to Christmas just so we can have a day where we aren't working and don't have much in particular to do but be with each other and family.


Last night we had dinner with Mike & Liz and took them our old tree - the 9' one that doesn't fit in our new house. It looks great in their new place and I am really glad they are able to use it - there's no sense in it just sitting in our basement collecting dust. The lights only worked on one tier, which I felt bad about but Liz said she didn't mind. I'm really glad to be able to make her so happy for the holiday - that is a cool present all in itself.


Today I'm finishing up that commission piece and a couple of Christmas presents - one is a trivet for my aunt and uncle who live in Tennessee. My family does a drawing every year for the gift exchange and I drew Nan and Lee. They are pretty cool folks, though I haven't seen them in a couple of years, probably. It's hard to get any number of the family together and I don't often get to see the ones who live farther away. Anyway, the trivet has a fish on it, and I think it's my favorite piece that I've done so far. It turned out really well - Kevin named it Charlie, even though it's not a tuna - and it's my first attempt at an animal. I'll take pictures of it once it's cleaned up a bit and post them. I'll post pictures of the flamingo tray too, which is the commission project. I'm really happy with both of these, which is boosting my confidence. I have had plenty of moments this fall where I really didn't like my work and felt I wasn't very good at this whole thing. But I'm feeling reassured that I'm getting better, and if I keep at it, eventually I will be as good as my mosaic idols (Sonia King, Shug Jones, Elaine Goodwin...). Some day! It's good to have something to aspire to.


Tomorrow evening we're heading down to my parents' house (provided Kevin gets off work early enough). We'll spend Christmas Day with them, have dinner at my aunt and uncle's in C-ville and then come home in the evening. Work Thursday and Friday and then Christmas with Kevin's folks and sister on Saturday.


Well, I should probably go start wrapping presents. I hope everyone has a safe and happy holiday!

Ciao and Buon Natale!


ProfileDiaryland