Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

Classes and projects

Friday, Dec. 13, 2002
11:18 AM

So I am officially a Michaels employee. Fortunately, not as a register monkey, serving the Christmas shopping masses. Starting Jan. 17, I will be teaching mosaic classes at the Michaels in Sterling. Perhaps not the most glamorous of venues, but it's a start. I think it will be fun and extra money does not suck. I went yesterday to talk to the events coordinator, who turned out to be pretty cool, filled out my work application and W4, took an "opinion survey" (which was essentially a test to make sure I am not a dopehead or a thief) and voila! I am an instructor. I have a few more things to do, like make up a little blurb about my class and compile a supplies list for my students, but I am mostly all set.

I don't think I've posted the URL for my website here before. I know some of you have seen it, but for anyone who's interested, it's SummerTreeMosaics.com.

Anyway, the class thing seems to be my main accomplishment for this week - I've been getting other stuff done but nothing finished yet. I'm still waiting on tiles to come in so I can work on the commissions I've got. I've gotten some Christmas shopping done, which is good, but I've got other stuff to make for Christmas gifts and I haven't done squat on those. I guess I work better when I'm down to the wire. I am sort of re-evaluating what I can get done for Twelfth Night - I know I can get the stuff for other people done, and I really hope I get my big mosaic project for the Tempore Atlantia competition done. I also want to make some Italian garb for Kevin, but my re-evaluation is making me think I should do not just the overgown part but the whole outfit (of course). I mean, if I'm going to do the gown and the hat, I might as well do the doublet too. And I guess he can wear his old hosen, but he really needs new ones. You see? It just snowballs. Sigh. And have I started on any of this? Of course not.

None of this is helped by my being sick this week. It's hard to get the energy to get off the couch when you're coughing your freakin' head off. I hate being sick, I really do. The day they come up with a cure for the common cold, I'll be a happy woman.

Anyway, I should go work on one of the zillion things I just mentioned and start getting ready for St. Fortunatus. I'm looking forward to it - sounds like everybody will be there and I could use a little social interaction. I just have to figure out what I'm going to wear.

Ciao!


ProfileDiaryland