Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

University weekend

Tuesday, Oct. 08, 2002
9:20 AM

Back from the weekend and cracking down hard. I am a mosaic-making fool this week. The craft show is on Sunday and I am terrified that I won't have enough stuff to sell. I am also terrified that I won't sell a damned thing. I have to have every possible fear covered here. Sigh.

We had a lovely weekend, for the most part - and the parts that weren't lovely were at least surviveable and even laughable later. We headed down I95 south on Friday afternoon, which sucked of course and stretched a two hour trip to Richmond into three. Not much surprise there, even though we thought we had left early enough to avoid that. Oh well. We picked up Bonnie and headed down to NC where we were crashing at her dad's place. Up the next morning and heading off to University. We were being fairly lackadaisical about getting there so were late for the first class period. Fortunately none of us were teaching then so it didn't really matter. I took a couple of classes, taught one (which I think went pretty well) and got to do some schmoozing. That was one of the best parts of the day, since lately it seems I don't get to just sit and hang out with people at events anymore. Got to sit and chat with Nia for a bit, which is always fun. I am looking forward to Crusades this weekend since I usually get to hang out and chat with people there more than at other events.

After the event was over, we went with a bunch of folks to dinner at a Caribbean themed restaurant. The food was pretty good, though maybe a little overpriced, but not too bad. The unfortunate part of the evening was being stuck at the end of the table with a couple of goobs - worse, goobs who can't handle a quiet person. I dislike people who expect you to be as talkative and annoying as they are, even after a long day when you are tired. But that was actually the worst part of the day, so in the grand scheme of things, it wasn't that bad.

After dinner a bunch of us retired to Calli's house for alcohol and more schmoozing. Had a ball hanging out with Francesca, Drea & Calli, Cosette & Mike, Bonnie, Olaf & Caroline and Kisaiya. Swapped old Pennsic stories, learned a few things about people that I did NOT need to know... it was a good time. We decided to head back to Bonnie's dad's place when I was falling asleep on the couch and Kevin was falling asleep on the floor.

Next morning saw a lovely breakfast made by Bonnie's dad and then back on the road to home. Spent the rest of the afternoon at Bob & Bonnie's hanging out, being fed well (as always) and garb geeking with Bonnie, Kimmie and DeeDee. I got a little more work done on Andrew's cotehardie (won't be done by Crusades but maybe by Crown) and started to get a little more into the mood to sew. Which is good, because it's been a while since I felt like doing any costuming at all. I'd like to get back to doing more, but working on mosaic stuff has taken most of my time and energy. There are only so many hours in the day, dammit.

So we got back home pretty late Sunday night and just crashed into bed. Spent all day yesterday working, will spend all day today working too. I hope I have enough time to finish all the projects I want to do.

I better get cracking!

Ciao!


ProfileDiaryland