Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

Warning: Long Entry!

Monday, Oct. 14, 2002
10:48 AM

It has been a crazy couple of days. I am currently lounging on the couch in my pj's, taking advantage of a bit of downtime.


Let's see.. Friday was pretty much an insane scramble to get lots of stuff done. I had a bunch of mosaic projects to finish up and make presentable. Had some things to do to add spiff factor to my booth for the craft show. Oh yeah, probably should assemble garb and stuff for the event. It was not a panic day but it was very busy, from the time I got out of bed to the time I went to sleep (which was very late).

Saturday morning we got up far too early, got ourselves dressed and out the door only a few minutes after our planned time. This is pretty good for us. Grabbed breakfast on the way (pumpkin bagels, yummmm...) and made really good time getting to Crusades. I guess if you leave early enough there just isn't that much traffic.


Best and Worst of Crusades

Best: Seeing the dawning of understanding on Gen's face as Their Majesties were saying, "Somebody else can take care of the MoL table today, right?"

Having a long chat with Dame Anne, and gaining new understanding and perspective on some issues. Feeling supported and reassured that someone understands how I feel. Plus just getting to spend time with Anne! Thanks, amica.

Standing guard at Gen's vigil. Trying to look menacing but unable to hold it for long.

Getting to spend time with people I don't see very often. This was especially nice after the frustration earlier in the fall.

Receiving compliments on my garb - being told that I looked like I stepped out of a painting. That is the highest compliment I can get - it tells me I have achieved my goal.

Watching Gen's elevation in court, being proud and happy for her.

Worst: Mud. Lots of mud. Afraid if I fall in it I will never get out mud.

Court starting late and running long. I was hoping to get on the road and get home at a reasonable hour so I could finish up a few things and then go to bed.

Being starving and headachey when court was finally over. Dinner was a stop at the Maryland House and Roy Rogers on the way home.

The bests far outweigh the worsts, which is always good. I really had a good time at the event, and that helped me regain some of my faith in the SCA. If I had not had a good time at Crusades, I might have seriously considered taking an extended break. But I am in a much better place mentally now so life is good.


Oh, and for those who have been wondering, James of Middle Aston will be the next KMOAS. I am totally OK with this, since I have a zillion other things going on anyway. I've volunteered to stay on as emergency deputy and to help out with whatever I can. I think James will do a fine job - we chatted a bit on Saturday about various aspects of the office and stuff like Kingdom A&S and University.


Anyway, we got home Saturday night, finished up some last minute things for the craft show and finally crashed in bed about 12:30. Up again yesterday way too early, but we got to the show in good time to start setting up. My setup was pretty simple so it didn't take long, fortunately. We used the pop-up day shade as my booth, one folding table and a black tablecloth. I was really nervous beforehand, checking out the other vendors who had much more stuff and more complicated displays than mine, but then I felt better when this lady and her daughter set up next to me with two tables, no tent and a random bunch of stuff. Looked more like a yard sale than a craft show, but hey, it made me look better! ;-)

I didn't sell much, just one small votive candle holder and one large one, but I made my booth fee ($35) back. Lots of people came by, made nice comments about my work, took business cards, etc. but I don't think folks were really out to spend money yesterday. It was also threatening rain most of the day (and it did sprinkle a bit, causing the yard sale lady to pack up and leave), plus there's the whole sniper thing. None of the other vendors seemed to do that well either. I was stuck down at the very end of the row across from the food vendors, which may not have been the best place for me, but oh well.

Right across from us (Kevin was with me most of the day, aside from running some errands for me and getting me lunch) was one of the food vendors. They were advertising fried Oreos, which apparently was a big draw. Toward the end of the afternoon, when things were pretty slow, the guy wandered over to chat with us. What a goob. The kind of guy who likes to hear himself talk - you know what I mean. He eventually wandered off, but came back later and offered us a couple of fried Oreos - apparently they use the same batter as for the funnel cakes. We tried them... they were... interesting. With all the powdered sugar all over them, Kevin called them "redneck beignets." Good thing I had swallowed at that point because otherwise I would have snarfed it out my nose I was laughing so hard. We were a little punchy by then.

So that was my first craft show experience. It was fun, and the people watching possibilities were astounding. I am going to apply for Herndon's Christmas craft show, in the first or second weekend of December. They still have a few spaces left, and I think I stand to do a lot better then. I have more time to make stock, improve my display, plus people will go to that one expressly to spend money.


So I am taking today off and chilling out. I may get around to organizing my sewing room later, but I may not. I think I will do some reading on the couch. I am revelling in the feeling of having nothing that absolutely HAS to get done today. Tomorrow I will get back to work on my parents' backsplash, but today is vacation.

Ciao!


ProfileDiaryland