Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

20 Weeks

Wednesday, Sept. 21, 2005
3:11 PM

I can't believe I'm halfway through my pregnancy already. I'm sure the second half is going to go just as fast as the first (except for the last three or four weeks, which will drag on as though time itself stopped), and that's a little scary. Still have a lot to do to get ready, though I think we have it under control. We are not doing any decorating in the nursery other than maybe hanging a few pictures. No painting, thankfully. The back spare room already has a nice cheery wallpaper border with blue and yellow flowers that I think will suit just fine (and it's just the border and not full wallpaper - evil stuff). Am in the process of figuring out what stuff we're going to get as hand-me-downs and what we'll need to buy. There is an upside to having kids slightly later in life - everyone else you know has kids and you get all the outgrown stuff!

I'm so ready for fall. I'm done with this 87 degree weather. At least the humidity has gone down - I would have enjoyed Chalice much more if I hadn't been sweating like crazy. I find these days my enjoyment of an event depends largely on the weather. I hope Crusades is nice and chilly! I'm ready for sweaters and warm drinks and vivid foliage. Fall is a close second to spring for my favorite season, and I'm just ready for it.

Not much else to say - still working away on the backsplash, which is coming along nicely. I expect to have it finished sometime next week. Still working on my Elizabethan loose gown outfit, which I'm farther behind on than I'd like, but I still have hope that it will be finished by Crusades. I still have to get the right color of linen for the kirtle. I ordered some from fabrics-store.com but it was way too dark. (I'm trying to find some that is at least a reasonably close match to the thread I'm using for the wrapped buttons. I know, I know...) That's what I get for going by the color on my monitor rather than taking the time to request a swatch. I just don't have the time, that's the thing. So now I have to either go with the linen I've got (not appealing), or try to unload the fabric and try again to get the right color. Or take my 30% off coupon to G Street and still pay too much. Sigh. I may be able to unload the wrong fabric on my apprentice, but that still doesn't help with the not having the right color. I should have started this a lot longer ago.

I'm taking a break from the backsplash, since the cutters I'm using are slightly big for my hands, so I get hand fatigue pretty quickly. I guess I should get back to it though. Maybe a snack first... apple and peanut butter, yum...

Ciao!


ProfileDiaryland