Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

Yarn musings

Monday, May. 15, 2006
10:55 AM

Hallelujah, the boy is actually really sleeping through the night now. It being the weekend, it was Kevin's turn for middle-of-the-night feeding duty. For the past couple of weeks, that was roughly 4am, give or take an hour. Thursday night, Tommy slept from 10:30 to 6:00. Kevin checked on him at least once to make sure he was still breathing. Friday night, 10:30 to 7:30. Saturday night, 10:30 to 8:30. So, needless to say, Kevin was off the hook, but as long as Tommy keeps it up, I'm totally cool with that. Hooray! His morning naps now seem to be going from one hour to two as well. Let's hear it for sleep! (It's like breathing... you don't miss it until it's gone.)



Someday I'm going to finish this jacket I'm knitting. I started it in January, got most of the back done and then had Tommy. I didn't pick it up again until he was something like two months old, and now I'm back at it. It was meant to be a spring jacket but I'm afraid by the time I finish it, it'll be too warm to wear it. Oh well, there's always fall (even though the yarn is variegated pastel-ish colors) or next spring. Sigh. I'm also trying to get some preemie hats made up to send to the NICU at Fair Oaks, sort of as a thank-you/pay it forward kind of thing for the care Tommy received when he was first born. Got enough yarn for a bunch of those. Then there's a really cute striped hoodie sweater I want to make for Tommy, for the fall, and a basketweave pullover for Kevin. I'm also planning various Christmas presents for family, which I should start on this summer rather than waiting until November. I've got lots of knitting to do.

I learned to knit when I was somewhere in the 10-12 age range, partly from a friend at school and partly from various relatives (my aunt and grandmother among them). I made a few simple sweaters, a gigantic rainbow colored scarf for my dad (truly horrible) and maybe a couple of other things. Then I gave it up until college, when I tried knitting a Kaffe Fassett sweater that was really over my head. That's still a UFO, in the basement somewhere. Gave it up again until about a year and a half ago. I saw Melanie Falick's book Weekend Knitting in a bookstore and I was hooked again. I'd forgotten how much I enjoyed knitting, playing with colors and textures and creating beautiful garments out of string. I know everybody's knitting these days, but I think it's great fun to hang out and knit with my friends and find so many fun new patterns. The possibilities are endless.

I have a pattern for a big project that I'd love to do sometime. Interweave Knits is my favorite knitting magazine, and the Summer 2005 issue has a gorgeous knitted dress on the cover. It's sleeveless, with a lace panel at the waist and another down the front and back of the skirt, and at the hem. The problem is, the pattern only has instructions for two sizes, neither of which I am at present. Another problem is that it's backless, so forget about wearing a bra with it. But still, I keep thinking that if I commit to losing weight while I'm knitting it, and get the right undergarments, it could work. If I worked really hard, by the time I finished knitting it, I could fit in it. It wouldn't be a cheap proposition, though - even the larger size calls for 14 balls of yarn. I haven't been able to price it yet, but even at $5/ball (which would be cheap), that's a lot of money. Must think about this some more.







What kind of yarn are you?


You are Merino Wool.You are very easygoing and sweet. People like to keep you close because you are so softhearted. You love to be comfortable and warm from your head to your toes.
Take this quiz!



Quizilla |
Join

| Make A Quiz | More Quizzes | Grab Code


ProfileDiaryland