Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

The first month

Monday, Mar. 13, 2006
5:52 PM

I'm starting to feel like maybe I'm getting a clue about this parenting thing, through much trial and error. Tommy's really pretty easy-going, though he does tend to get fussy in the late afternoon/early evening. He gets overtired and then it's hard to get him to go to sleep. I think there may be some gasiness involved sometimes too, but for the most part he's pretty laid back.

We took him to Bloodbath on Saturday, his first event. The weather was gorgeous and he slept through most of the event, despite being passed around to all our friends for hours of cuddling. I only held him while he was eating. I'm working on some better way to nurse him discreetly at events, so that I'm not flashing everyone within eyeshot or making him sweat under a scarf or blanket. He got a little cranky at the end of the day Saturday, I think because he was too warm under the scarf I brought to cover up. I was fairly pleased with the accessibility of my garb, a front-lacing gamurra and a camicia with a slit cut down the front, but it was hard to get us both arranged properly without being indecently exposed. Will have to think about that some more.

Tommy will be a month old tomorrow. It's gone by so fast. I'm really trying to enjoy every moment with him, because I know he'll never be this small again. He's already grown at least 3/4 of an inch, probably more, and gained 1 pound and 5 oz. He's more alert every day and he makes the best noises. Lots of little grunts and sighs, even some soft coos. He makes the greatest squeaky noise when he eats. I love it when he falls asleep on me, his soft warm weight on my chest. It's the best feeling in the world.


ProfileDiaryland