Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

Christmas Spirit

Saturday, Dec. 24, 2005
8:28 AM

1. Do you have a real or fake Christmas Tree?
Real. We had a fake one for a few years in the house on Old Hunt Way, but had to get rid of it when we moved here. It was too tall to fit in the living room! I like real better anyway. Nothing smells like Christmas like a real tree.

2. Do you put up Christmas lights on the exterior of your home?
Sometimes. This year we just have a lit wreath hanging in the window over the front door. It's very nice, when we remember to turn it on at dark.

3. What's your favorite Christmas song/carol?
I'd have to say "O Holy Night", when it's done well - none of that Trans Siberian Orchestra crap. I'm a traditionalist when it comes to Christmas music.

4. What do you like better: turkey or ham?
I like both. ;-)

5. Do you open up any Christmas presents on Christmas Eve?
No way. When I was growing up, we didn't even put up the tree until Christmas Eve. Christmas morning is the frenzy of unwrapping.

6. Have you ever been Christmas Caroling?
No, but it sounds like fun.

7. What was your most memorable Christmas gift(s) that you received?
The one(s) that spring immediately to mind are the Italian frescoes books that Kevin gave me a few years ago.

8. What's your favorite Christmas movie?
It's a Wonderful Life
. It's the only one I've watched with any frequency over the years.

9. Have you ever built a real Snow-Man?
Of course. We even built a snow horse once, big enough for me to "ride" without my feet touching the ground. I must have been about 8 or 9, I guess.

10. Have you ever peeked into a present and found out what it was before Christmas?
I did a couple of times as a child. But I also figured out that it was way more fun to be surprised. The anticipation is the best part!

11. What is on the top of your Christmas tree?
We have a very nice angel. No canned music, no blinking lights, no waving candles around like she's trying to land a plane. Very classy.

12. Do you own a Santa hat?
Yep, we have two. Put one on my dad and he's pretty much a dead ringer for Santa Claus - except that he's thinner.

13. When was the last time you had your picture taken with Santa Claus?
I'm not sure I ever did.

14. Have you started your Christmas shopping yet?
Um, seeing as how it's Christmas Eve, yes. Everything's wrapped, too.

15. Do you put candy canes on your Christmas Tree?
Not real ones. We have one or two candy cane ornaments, but I'm not that keen on candy canes.

16. Who is hardest person to buy for?
My dad. I usually end up buying him books, because I know I can find something that will interest him. My mom bought him a block of wood one year - it was a particular type that is supposed to be very good for carving, though I've forgotten what it's called. Jelutong?

17. Who is the easiest person to buy for?
My mom. She and I have some similar interests, so I can usually pick out something pretty easily.

18. How old were you when you realized Santa was imaginary?
I don't really know. I'm pretty sure that one year I just figured out that my parents were behind all of it, but I wasn't especially traumatized.

19. What does your morning of Christmas routine consist of?
Wake up, get COFFEE, open stockings, have breakfast (usually something special like coffee cake or Dad's scones), then open the rest of the presents. Last year the present opening went on well into the day, since my parents had gone so nuts buying things for my niece.

20. Egg nog?
Eh. I can take it or leave it. I usually have a glass or two (we got Soy Nog this year, not bad) and then I'm done for the season.

21. What do you want for Christmas this year?
To not go into labor. ;-)

Merry Christmas, everyone! We are leaving today to go visit my parents and assorted other family members for a few days. Wherever you happen to be going, safe travels. I hope you all have a great holiday!


ProfileDiaryland