Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

A Real Piece of Work

Monday, Dec. 05, 2005
4:22 PM

It's quit snowing for the moment and I'm wondering if we'll get any more. I'm not wishing for a foot of it or anything, but a little more than a dusting would be nice. I always figure if it's going to be cold, it might as well be pretty. And it might get me more in the Christmas mood than I currently am. Don't get me wrong, I'm not all bah-humbug or anything, it's just that my mind isn't on it yet. I need some hot chocolate.

I am feeling fairly accomplished today, though. I worked up the estimate for Gary & Cindy's second mosaic project and sent that off, then I did a first draft of an article that Greta and I are writing for the costumers' guild. I hadn't put it off for too long, so now I don't have to feel guilty about it at all. Now I have to get cracking on Christmas planning and shopping. Still have to figure out what we're getting for some extended relations, and get some projects finished, but Christmas seems far away still. I know, I know! Less than three weeks left to go.

I've been working on a couple of knitting projects, namely the sweater vest for my dad's Christmas present. It turns out I measured the back armholes wrong and need to rip out the bound off stitches and add another couple of inches to the back. It won't be hard but it'll be tedious. Then I can add the ribbing to the neckline and armholes, block the thing and wrap it up! I'm also working on a pair of baby socks (OK, at the moment one sock) which is looking weird. It's got a little ruffled rib section at the top, and then an eyelet row, and then a section of K1 P1 rib. The K1 P1 looks very odd to me, like the tension is off or something - the knit stitches look all loose and ladder-y. On some internet advice I tried knitting into the back of the stitches, but that looked weird as well. I guess I'll just keep going and see how the whole thing looks when it's finished. It's very frustrating, though. Still am waiting on various things before I can work on mosaic projects.

This morning I talked to Cheryl, the lady that replaced me working for Bosslady. Poor thing is about to lose her mind, not that I blame her. Bosslady is up to her usual shenanigans, being cranky as hell and blaming anything that goes wrong on her admin. She yelled at Cheryl for opening the window when the smell of mothballs from the closet became overwhelming - told her she needed her permission to open the window! Bosslady had/has a habit of hanging up the phone with someone and then calling them stupid and/or incompetent if things hadn't gone her way. Apparently she called Cheryl stupid and incompetent to her face! I think I would have simply walked out if she'd ever said that to me. I told Cheryl she needed to look for a new job. I feel bad for her but I feel kind of vindicated, too. It wasn't just me who got treated like crap! I'm so glad I finally quit - can't believe I managed to put up with the crap for two years. I do miss steady income, though, even if it wasn't much. Still, I'm much happier now than when I was dreading going to work or answering my cell phone. That's worth something right there.

Hm. Instead of hot chocolate, I think I'll go find some Tums. They don't tell you about the heartburn before you get pregnant.


ProfileDiaryland