Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

Another (year) bites the dust

Wednesday, Nov. 30, 2005
10:59 AM

I have become such a Diaryland slacker. I used to update almost every day, or at least a few times a week. Now I'm lucky if I get around to it a couple of times a month. But life has been pretty quiet for me lately, and I can't see the point of writing about cleaning up my house or what I had for breakfast or whatever. It's a time of waiting for me, waiting and getting ready. There's just not much to say.

I could talk about the baronial political fu that's been going on, but I wasn't directly involved (though someone near and dear to me was) and it's calmed down a good bit since last week, thankfully. I will only say that people need to remember that the SCA is only a hobby, only a game, and that sometimes modern life will take precedence. Demanding as much of others as you yourself put in is only going to piss people off.

I had a good birthday on Monday (thanks for the guestbook love!). I never feel any different on my birthday as I did the day before, so 32 seems about the same as 31. I'm sure I'll feel much different on my kid's birthday. But anyway, I had a nice lunch with an old friend, the kind of friend who you can go for months or even years without seeing and still pick up right where you left off (Hi, T!). Friends like that are good to hang on to. I got home from lunch at around 5:00, we'd been just sitting and chatting the whole afternoon. I got some fabu presents, including a toasty fleece jacket from my sweetie (one that even zips up over my belly and will stretch for the next two months! None of my winter coats fit worth a darn...) and a stack of new baking sheets. Our old ones were cheap and had so much baked-on crud that I hated using them (hated washing them even more).

My folks sent me a new pink/lilac shirt that also is mercifully stretchy, and long. I've noticed that some of my maternity shirts are slowly creeping up at the front hem, and I have to keep tugging them down to cover up the panel in my maternity jeans. I know it's not like a big secret that I'm pregnant, but somehow letting the panel show seems slightly gauche to me. I guess I'm just weird that way. I also got 4 skeins of lovely Debbie Bliss baby cashmerino yarn, that I plan to make into something beautiful for the baby. Have to finish the sweater vest for my dad's Christmas present first! My sister gave me a really cool beaded bracelet, which happened to go really well with the jacket. She's been into beading a lot lately, and has a good eye for design so her jewelry is really nice.

Of course it wouldn't be my birthday without books, so I got Alison Weir's new one on Isabella (Edward II's wife) from my folks, and Mosaics of the Greek and Roman World from Gen & Alan. Woohoo! It's really a fantastic book, and I can't believe I didn't have it before. Lots and LOTS of pictures that I had not seen, which for me is saying something. Next time I teach my History of Mosaics class, I will have a metric ton of new info to put in the handout.

The other fun thing we did on my birthday was to go pick up the crib. It was the last major thing we needed for the baby, and now it just needs to be assembled and put up. We have the nursery mostly set up, and somehow that kind of makes it all seem more real. I want to make a mosaic to hang on the wall in there, but haven't decided yet on a subject.

Well, that's all the potentially interesting stuff I have for now. I doubt anyone wants to hear about how I'm going to declutter the living room this afternoon.


ProfileDiaryland