Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

An entry about a lot of stuff, but mostly baby

Monday, Nov. 14, 2005
5:19 PM

It's been a busy few days, which actually felt pretty good. I worked most of last week on my Elizabethan outfit in order to get it wearable for KWAR. Thankfully, I did manaage to get almost all of it done, with the exception of the hat I wanted to make (OK, and the lacing eyelets on the back of the kirtle - I closed it up with safety pins and kept the loose gown on so they didn't show!). I still want to make more buttons and add them all the way down the front of the goown, but I had enough to do the closures. There are things I would do differently with the outfit if I had the money for extra fabric (like lining the kirtle and getting lighter weight linen for the smock) but overall I'm pretty happy with how it turned out. Great pregnancy garb!

KWAR was the first event we'd been to since Chalice of the Sun God in September and it was a really fun time. We did not stress about anything, just showed up, hung out with friends we hadn't seen in way too long and even took a class or two. I sat in on the first half of the cinqueada class - really interesting Northern Italian big dagger/short sword sort of thing. It was cool to learn some of the background of the weapon. Would have liked to geek with Brian about various details but didn't want to hold up the class too much. I sat out the hands-on practice part (don't think my OB would approve) but had a lot of fun watching. I split halfway through to go to a class more geared toward beginners, which wasn't quite what I expected, but it was a nice refresher for me since I haven't fenced or been to practice in months. Very happy to see Kate elevated to the Laurel and to be a part of the whole experience.

Kevin and Genie and I went to dinner afterwards and had a lovely long chat that continued after we got home. Spent some time remembering Gyrth and talking about how sometimes it is still hard to remember that he's no longer with us. Finally went to bed when I started falling asleep on the couch.

Sunday my sneaky friends and family threw me a surprise baby shower. I wondered if something was up when Kevin told me on Friday that we were having brunch at the Smiths' on Sunday - we never plan stuff like that that early! But it was really cool to have so many of my nearest and dearest together for a celebration. My mom and my sister made all the food (aside from the adorable and yummy cake that Sue made) and that was fabulous. I had two industrious helpers to assist me with opening presents (Regan and my niece Cailin), at least until they got sidetracked with presents of their own. I had a great time and I'm really grateful for everything my friends and family have done for me. And now we are almost all set for baby's arrival!

This morning we had our second (well, technically fourth) and most likely last ultrasound. One of the OBs at my practice recommended it since my blood pressure had been slightly high for a couple of my appointments - naturally, at my last appointment, with a different doctor, my BP was totally normal. So the ultrasound wasn't strictly necessary, but we were just as happy to get another chance to see the baby. Everything is looking great. The baby's head is right on my bladder (which explains a lot) and he/she is facing left. Feet are up near my ribs. We did not get a good look at the face since the baby was being shy and looking toward my spine. Oh well. We did get to see a good well formed heart, kidneys, stomach, etc. It's funny, this ultrasound was not as fun as the 18 week one because it was harder to tell what we were looking at. The baby's so much bigger that you can't see the whole body (or most of it) at once. (He/she is weighing in at 2 lbs, 13 oz.) You get to see the head, and then the spine, and then the feet rather than everything at once. The pictures weren't as clear either, but oh well. We'll be seeing the real thing soon enough! (Oh, and if anyone's wondering, I passed my glucose tolerance test. W00T!)

Hard to believe Thanksgiving is next week. Then I guess the Christmas rush is on - I expect we'll be doing most of our Christmas shopping via internet. We've got some presents bought already but still have more to go. I'm making a few too.

I guess this time of year always flies by. February will be here before we know it!


ProfileDiaryland