Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

Happiness is a warm pumpkin bagel

Friday, Oct. 28, 2005
11:50 AM

The Bagel Cafe near our house makes pumpkin bagels, but only in October and November. I looooves me a pumpkin bagel, lightly toasted with light (plain) cream cheese. I am all about the pumpkin bagels. I went this morning and had one, and bought a half dozen to bring home. Had a fabulous cup of coffee with it - they have various flavored varieties that change over some undetermined period of time (ie, when they feel like it). For a long time they had pumpkin pie spice coffee, which is OK, but today they had cappucino fudge. YUM. I was in breakfast heaven today.

OK, so I'm talking about breakfast foods because I don't really have much else to write about. I'm between projects, so I'm feeling like a stay at home mom with no kid yet. I'm indulging my fall urge to bake things - made some yummy bread to go with the Provencal beef stew I made for dinner the other night. OK, so the bread was from a mix, but it involved yeast and everything, so for me it was real baking. I might work up to making bread from scratch sometime soon. I'm also knitting a sweater vest for my dad for Christmas, which is turning out pretty well so far. I've never knitted cables before, and this is a good starter for that, since the cables don't actually cross, they just zigzag back and forth. It's fun, and I might actually finish it before the holiday.

I had my glucose tolerance test on Tuesday but haven't gotten the results yet. This is a test for gestational diabetes - measuring my blood glucose an hour after drinking a concentrated glucose drink. The results will go to my doctor's office, theoretically today, but the nurse there told me that they would only call me if the results were high or abnormal. This is not acceptable to me since I have such a strong family history of diabetes, so I'm going to call them and bug them anyway. Even if I passed the test, I want to know what my number was - I don't think that's too much to ask. I have an appointment for a flu shot this afternoon and an appointment for a second ultrasound in a couple of weeks. I guess I better get used to lots and lots of appointments.

Gotta go get some lunch and a few more rows done on the sweater!


ProfileDiaryland