Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

Back from the Beach

Monday, Oct. 24, 2005
4:21 PM

We're back after a week at the Outer Banks with my family. It was a good and relaxing time, and I think we both needed it. Unfortunately, I caught a cold right before we left so I didn't enjoy the week as fully as I would have liked. The first few days I had a sore throat and couldn't breathe, then some of the congestion cleared but I started coughing. I didn't sleep well and neither did Kevin, thanks to my coughing and snoring (I only snore when I get sick). So hooray. I'm still coughing my head off, but it seems a little better today so maybe I'll live.

In spite of that, I did have a good time. Hard to have a completely bad time at the beach. My parents rented a really nice house right on the beach, and we had my sister and my niece for the first half of the week. We also had some old family friends from England, who I hadn't seen in nearly twenty years. We had lots of nice walks on the beach, collected many, many shells and got to go swimming some. I didn't feel well enough to get in the water until the end of the week, but it was fantastic. The water's still warm enough to be comfortable so that was nice. I have to say, October's a great time to go to the beach. It's not crowded at all, and while some places are closed up for the winter, there are still plenty of places open so there's enough to do. We had beautiful weather all week, except for the thunderstorm that rolled through Saturday morning at 5:30 and woke us all up. We were leaving that day anyway so it wasn't a big deal.

It was hard to leave the beach but good to come home. I soooo missed my bed - it was fantastic to wake up Sunday morning without sore hips. We still have some laundry to do, and grocery shopping, but we're settling back into our daily routine at home.

Still figuring out what needs to be done this week - I have a mosaic project pending but can't move forward on it until I get a final decision on the border pattern. I need to finish nailing down the list of baby stuff we need and then go register (if only so my mom will quit bugging me about it). But I don't have anything pressing to do and that's a little weird. I guess I'll get working on Christmas presents I'm planning to make.

I've lost all motivation to finish my loose gown outfit, it seems. I quit working on it when I realized I had too much other stuff to do to get it done in time for Crusades, and then we ended up not going to Crusades at all. I thought then that I would try to get the thing done for Crown, but I haven't touched it in over two weeks. Guess I should try to get back into it, before it becomes a UFO in my sewing room. The intent was to have some nice maternity garb, and it only makes sense to finish it while I'm actually still pregnant. Must find the sewing mojo again!

I guess that's it. I'll try to post some pics from the beach next time. We got some great shots of sunrise and moonrise over the ocean. The changing light and the color of the sea is the most amazing part of the beach to me.


ProfileDiaryland