Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

Pennsic XXXIV

Monday, Aug. 22, 2005
11:51 AM

Back from Pennsic, and settling in. Can't say we've made much progress with the unpacking, but it will get done eventually and I don't have the wherewithal to get stressed about it. I have plenty of time this week to put things away and get the laundry done - I am enjoying a less frantic pace, now that the pre-Pennsic prep is past and I'm no longer working. Once the tiles come in for my next project, then I'll be busy, but I have a little downtime right now.

This was a very different Pennsic for me this year. Not bad, but not what I'm used to. Carrying around an extra person tires you out much faster. I had not set too ambitious of a schedule for myself, but I still got worn out pretty quickly. I had to stop and sit down a lot, and really remember to drink enough water. Thank goodness for Siobhan, who carried and toted and fetched and put up with my fifty million trips to the privy every day. I have the best apprentice ever! We have joked that she's the all in one associate, the squapprentege, she slices, she dices, she juliennes! OK, so we got a bit punchy in places but you get the idea.

My only other physical complaint of the war was swelling in my feet and ankles. I know some people swell during Pennsic anyway, because of the heat and being on your feet more than usual, but I didn't in past years, so it was a little weird. My feet looked like water balloons with toes! And a couple of times I couldn't see my ankle bones at all. Thankfully, after a couple of days in the A/C and on the couch, they seem to be back to normal.

I took a couple of good classes (plus one or two that were just OK) and did some shopping, but didn't spend too much money. I bought no fabric and only a few books - unusual for me, but I just wasn't feeling inspired. I did get Margo Anderson's Elizabethan comfort pattern package, which I figure will make nice comfy clothes for when I can't see my feet.

Speaking of clothes, I think Siobhan and I have started something of a Roman trend. We had several people comment on our tunicae and pallae, and heard others say they were going to make some for next year. I have to say that the Roman idea was a great one - quick and easy to make, very comfortable in the heat, and I did not feel squished by a fitted bodice. I still wore some of my other stuff like my green gamurra and my Flemish kirtle, but the Roman stuff was a godsend on the hotter days.

Well, I've got some errands to run and plenty of housecleaning to do, so I'll sign off. It's good to be home!

Ciao!


ProfileDiaryland