Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

Endowments larger than Harvard's

Wednesday, Aug. 03, 2005
5:45 PM

I know I have kvetched on here before about not being able to find comfortable bras that fit. My complaints are now at a whole new level.



Fellas, you may skip this entry if you like. You may think that it's going to be all racy or something (I almost typed "titillating" but that would have been too much), but really, it's just going to be a whole lot of estrogen and progesterone-soaked whining. You have been warned.


OK, back to rant at hand. Pre-pregnancy, I was already "blessed" with a rather unwieldy rack. The boob fairy already visited me during puberty, so I don't need another visit, thanks. I already was wearing the larger end of bra sizes offered by Lane Bryant - but I really liked them. Engineered for good support (OK, engineered so that they could take a nuclear hit and still hold up), four hooks, straps that did not make ugly red marks on my shoulders, fabulous.

Now... now is a different story. I'm still good with the four hooks, the straps are still OK... but my cups runneth over. My unwieldy rack is getting out of control. Thus, I have become obsessed with finding The Perfect Bra.

Unfortunately, any store that sells women's clothing does not seem to understand that if you're well endowed, you become even more so when preggers. I'll give Motherhood Maternity credit for carrying nursing bras in 42G, but I'm not yet in need of nursing bras and the ones I tried on did not really give the support I so desperately need. (OK, so I did buy a soft cup style to sleep in, to pamper the sore boobs. HUGE difference!)
I really prefer to try on bras before I buy them, since even ones that numerically should fit can feel wonky in all the wrong places. I have tried Lane Bryant, Motherhood Maternity and JCPenney (which offers larger sizes online, but see above about preferring to try on first). The nice saleslady at Lane Bryant told me about another plus size clothing store in Fairfax, but when I went on their website, they only had my new improved size in soft cup styles. Frankly, my boobs laugh at anything that doesn't have a 12 gauge underwire in it.

I'm thinking my last option is to take my chances and order something from the JCPenney website. I guess if it doesn't fit, I can send it back and try again. But I'm almost literally popping out of my current bras, so I need something SOON.

Any ladies out there with majestic racks like mine, please send me your suggestions. If you're less than a DD, I don't want to hear from you. I love you, but I don't want to hear how you had trouble finding a half size up from a C. I will hunt you down and put cantaloupes in your shirt.

Grazie!


ProfileDiaryland