Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

Miracles

Monday, Jun. 27, 2005
4:09 PM

I've been thinking a lot lately about miracles. I guess technically a miracle is something that happens that has no rational explanation, but I also tend to think of them as something amazing that happens that you have no control over. I don't know if I believe in the religious sort of miracles, but I do know I believe in the miracle of modern science.

The things we can do with technology these days is truly amazing. We can do so many things now that we never could before. We can manipulate the tiniest components of our reproductive systems, and create a whole new life when all else has failed. These technological advances are the ones that change lives and make dreams come true.

Our dream is coming true. Thanks to the miracle of modern science, Kevin and I are expecting our first child.

This is what has kept us so preoccupied for the past few months. IVF is not a short process, nor is it one to be taken on lightly. It requires a lot of time, energy and emotional stamina. I think that really only another infertility patient can truly understand the heartache, frustration and fear that goes hand in hand with this process, but we are certainly grateful to our close friends and families for their unfailing support and love. Please do not feel offended if you were not one of the ones we chose to confide in - it has been a difficult time and this is, of course, a highly personal situation.

(Incidentally, this is why I was so sick back in April. I had ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome, because my body responded to the fertility drugs a little too enthusiastically. I'm nothing if not an over-achiever.)

Thankfully, everything is going great so far. One bright side (the anemic strawberry in the briar patch, as my sweetie would say) to being an infertility patient is that we get ultrasounds very early on in the pregnancy, to make sure everything is progressing normally. We had our second one today and the baby looks fine - nice strong heartbeat and growth typical for its gestational age.

We are really looking foward to the next few months and beyond. I have graduated from the fertility center and will be going to a regular OB starting in July. The due date is early February. We couldn't be any happier if we tried.


ProfileDiaryland