Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

3 weeks later

Thursday, Jun. 23, 2005
4:41 PM

My, how time flies when you're... working for a crazy Eastern European lady. Hm. Maybe not so much. I have been amazingly bad about keeping up with my diary, but I'll try to be better about it in the foreseeable future.

Had a nice weekend, which is old news by now I guess. Kevin and I headed down to Charlotte for Chris and Tracie's wedding, and to hang with Bob & Bonnie and Mike & Kirsten. Despite a long drive during which I felt distinctly icky, we were not too late in arriving and had fabu etoufee made by (who else?) Bob. I have no idea if I spelled etoufee right and it doesn't really matter.

Saturday we hit the fabric mecca of Mary Jo's in Gastonia. I had never been there before and jumped at my chance to go. I would say it is comparable to G Street in size and quantity of fabric, but at less than half the price. I really could have made a dent in my bank account but I restrained myself, sort of. I got a yard of Laurel fabric for sleeves (green with pale gold wreaths) and two different colors of linen for Pennsic garb. I had to really resist the wool for $8/yard but I may send Bonnie back there in the fall to pick some up for me. It is probably for the best that that place is a 7 hour drive from me, otherwise I would be in serious trouble.

After fabric shopping and lunch at 5 Guys, Bonnie, Mike, Kevin and I went to see Batman Begins. I will now commit heresy by saying I thought it was only OK. I thought the first 45 minutes dragged and I was actually contemplating laying my head on Kevin's shoulder and taking a nap. I was glad to see that it picked up and it was cool to see some of the backstory - but as I've never been a big comic geek I was not as crazy about it as everybody else seems to be. You may commence throwing rotten tomatoes now (are there any other kind? blech)

The wedding was lovely. I really liked the gardens and both Tracie and Chris looked fabulous. The weather sort of cooperated - it began clouding up shortly before the ceremony, so it wasn't too hot or too bright, but held off on the thunderstorm until everybody was inside for the reception. It was nice to see folks we don't get to see often and chat with friends.

After heading back to Bob & Bonnie's for the evening, we stayed up way too late playing Val's Werewolf game. Simple game but lots of fun. I finally went to bed when I couldn't keep my eyes open anymore. Must be getting old.

Sunday was a relaxed morning, pancakes & bacon for breakfast and crazy home improvement shows on TV. With great reluctance Kevin and I hit the road back home. We didn't quite finish the mystery we were listening to on CD, so we'll have to get the last few tracks on our way to somewhere, soon.

Haved worked all week and am now weary, mentally and physically. Mostly mentally. Bosslady takes a lot of energy to deal with and I am really happy to have tomorrow off. I'm planning to do a bunch of stuff to get ready for Challenge of the Heart. Since I sweated my way through Highland River Melees, I'm thinking of going classical Roman for this weekend, cause it's supposed to be hot again. I'm actually considering going Roman for Pennsic, too, if this works out. I just want to be comfortable.

All for now, more later.


ProfileDiaryland