Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

It's Over

Friday, May. 13, 2005
4:24 PM

Dave, we need to talk. Things have really been going downhill for a while now. I just don't know who you are anymore. I guess I should have seen it coming, what with that solo album and all, but I really hoped things would go back to the way they were.

I've been with you from the beginning, almost. I remember when I was introduced to you in the summer of 1992, at Trax in Charlottesville, before anyone else really knew you. I made a lot of converts for you in college, when you opened for Toad the Wet Sprocket at W&M, and I dragged all my friends to see you. Ah, good times. Now I've been out of school for ten years, Trax isn't even there anymore and I feel put off by all the screaming groupies. And the most important thing, the music, is now bland, passionless crap. I just can't get into it. Before These Crowded Streets was the last studio album I really liked, and that was, well, a long time ago. Everyday was depressing (admittedly I was depressed already while listening to it) and Busted Stuff was just okay. By all accounts your latest effort, Stand Up is just as disappointing. The days when I bought everything you put out are over, I'm afraid.

Aw, don't be like that. We can still be friends. I'll still listen to your old stuff. I have many fond memories from Remember Two Things. I'll still groove to "Two Step" and "Lie in Our Graves". I still get that wicked little thrill listening to "Rapunzel". I'll dig out my CD of Live at Red Rocks because, of course, you were always at your best live. You thrived on that energy, and so did I. I'll miss you, but I've moved on.


ProfileDiaryland