Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

Positives and Negatives

Tuesday, May. 10, 2005
8:57 PM

I had a good weekend - seems like there have been few of those lately. Saturday was a great day for Crown, though I felt very rushed at the beginning of it. Thankfully the procession did not start on time (I should have expected that) and thanks to my apprentice's lead foot we got to site with plenty of wiggle room.

I had a really good day. Few obligations other than supporting my sweetie, and hanging with my household. I will let Kevin tell the gory details of his rounds, if he so chooses, but I was very proud of his prowess and chivalry that day. He behaved honorably on the field and off, and I would expect no less from him. He always makes me proud.

I did get to check out the A&S displays and saw lots of things that impressed me. I didn't commit to judging anything since I knew I would be close to the list field all day, and while I don't mind judging, it made a nice change from that frequent commitment. Quick Pearl meeting with little tedium, couple of chats about knitting and other stuff.

We packed up during Court, in order to head out for dinner at a reasonable hour. I was working on a headache from squinting during the finals, so getting some food soon was getting to be a priority. More bonding time with the household, and then bonding time with my sweetie on the drive home.

Sunday was our first anniversary. It's hard to believe it's been a whole year since our wedding day! We had a nice relaxing Sunday, puttering around in the morning and then going to see Kingdom of Heaven in the afternoon. We both liked it, though there were aspects of it that were disturbing and thought-provoking. The armor looked good (from what little I know of armor from that time period) but I was unimpressed by the costuming. Not surprised, but unimpressed. I don't know much about Near or Middle Eastern costuming, but I would not be surprised either if that were not anywhere near accurate. However, I am pretty much past expecting Hollywood productions to care about authenticity or accuracy, or anything besides a good story, really.

We went to Zeffirelli, an Italian restaurant in the older part of town. We hadn't been there but had heard lots of good things about it. Aside from the half hour wait to get seated in spite of our reservations, the meal was fabulous. Really good food, great staff and we had a really nice evening out.

As an anniversary present, Kevin gave me a two book set on the Baptistry of San Giovanni in Florence. The first volume is photos, the second is text. I'd say they photographed every square inch of the building, inside and out. There are some really fascinating details of the mosaics on the dome, including some that you can't even see from the floor (they are on the gallery level, facing the windows). It's really just mind-boggling, and I want to find the time to really look through it and absorb it all. My sweetie finds the best presents!

I'm off work for the first part of this week; so far I've pretty much puttered around the house. We managed to get our wedding photos printed from the negatives (yes, OK, so we're a bit behind the curve) but I'm grumpy with the photo place because they missed two of the prints I wanted, and shoved the 5x7 print into the envelope with the 4x6 prints and bent it. The 5x7 was supposed to go to my grandmother for her frame that we already gave her, but I might have to get it re-done. Bah. I think I'll go somewhere else.

Hopefully Dland hasn't timed out on me, so I'll post this now before it goes away. Ciao!


ProfileDiaryland