Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

Weeknight Update

Tuesday, Feb. 22, 2005
8:24 PM

Spent the weekend working hard and having fun. We were part of a team of home improvement monkeys that descended on Mel's house (that's the taller Mel) as our group present to her. We painted, drywalled, spackled, peeled wallpaper, caulked, etc. etc. It's somehow always more fun to fix up somebody else's house than your own, and the time fairly flew by. Hopefully Mel will enjoy all the changes - I think the place looks great, though we had to leave before all was said and done.

Now we're contemplating some new paint in our entryway, and eventually the kitchen and living room. The entryway will be easy, not much furniture and no carpet, just an area rug. We could probably knock that out in a day or so. Just need to pick a paint color.

Not much going on in the land of Jake. Back to work on a regular basis and I can't seem to get some other things done that really need to get done. I'm bad for procrastinating until I'm down to the wire, which I'm not yet, so everything's fine, right? Somehow I always manage to leave myself enough time to get it done. I didn't pull many all-nighters in college, but I was up until 2am writing papers on more than one occasion.

My niece's 2nd birthday is tomorrow. It's hard to believe she's already two. Wish I could see her more often. I sent her present today, hope it gets there in time. I bought her Click Clack Moo: Cows That Type and Giggle Giggle Quack, two very fun books about sassy farm animals. I saw one by the same author called Duck for President which I thought would probably be over Cailin's head but my parents might find amusing.

I have thankfully avoided the plague that seems to have hit everywhere else. Either I have been lucky or I don't get out much. Starting to feel like the latter, even though I have been hanging out with friends and going to events. Guess I am just restless and wanting spring. This is the toughest time of year for me - it's still winter but we're getting the occasional warm day or two that brings on the spring fever. The first two weeks of March are pretty tough too.

Can't wait for my mosaic artist conference!


ProfileDiaryland