Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

Not Donald Trump, but...

Monday, Jan. 10, 2005
9:28 PM

Twelfth Night is not my most favorite event, but I don't hate it either. It does wear you out, so I'm glad I wasn't there the whole day. There is only so much running around feeling like you have some external form of ADD that you can do before you collapse. That said, I did have a great time once I got there.

I had a planning meeting for the upcoming SAMA conference in the morning, so I knew I was going to be late. There was lots of fu and wa that occurred that would just be tiring to recount so I won't bother. I got to site around 2:00, armed with apprentice ceremony stuff and a blackberry tart for Gorm and Siobhan to enter in the brewing/baking competition. Fortunately Siobhan saw me come in and we got the baked goods handed off and into the competition just in time. Whew!

The apprentice ceremony went great. It was fantastic to look around and see so many wonderful people who showed up to support me and Siobhan as we took this step to make our mentor/student relationship official. I had only thought briefly about what I was going to say, but it came out fine and the contract went over well. I gave Siobhan a pair of sleeves with my fleur-de-lys embroidered on them (thanks Theo for the help and use of the machine!), her green belt and a Billy & Charlie pewter tower needlecase. Amusingly, Aislynn gave her the same needlecase. The ceremony was fairly short but that was fine given all the other things going on at the event.

Our household had a good day in court as well, as my sweetie was inducted into the Order of the Kraken (yay!!) and Siobhan won one of the categories in the brewing competition for her Black 'n Blue berry mead (very yummy stuff). I am really proud of her and I know she's going to do great things. I'm very proud of Kevin too. I know he's going to achieve everything he wants to.

I didn't get a chance to look at the A&S as closely as I wanted to, but did see some very cool stuff. Props to all those who entered, I know how hard it is to put your stuff out for scrutiny (or worse, to not get any feedback at all). I wish I'd had more time to really look at it, but I will do better next time (and remember to bring tokens to leave!). I didn't get to see many of the merchants, either, but I did manage to get to Spanish Peacock to buy more double pointed knitting needles. Crack! Crack, I tell you. I'm knitting more socks, hopefully they will actually fit me this time (but I did check the gauge so they should be OK).

We opted to not stay for feast, instead we went back to our house with Izzy and Aradd, Colin and Clare and Siobhan, and ordered pizza. It was much more relaxed and we had a grand time. Crashed at about 1:30 am after geeking with Siobhan over the new book on the Greenland finds.

Sunday was a really nice start to the week, quality time with my honey and waffles for breakfast. Knitting time in the afternoon, running errands and hanging with the Smiths. Ever tried to watch a movie with an inquisitive toddler? Many, many questions...

This week is back to work, lots of hours which means money, and less stress as Twelfth Night is over and no more preparations for events for a little while. Need to do laundry and some other prep stuff for a bigger project that I'm hoping to be working on later this year.

Ciao!


ProfileDiaryland