Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

I can't complain, but sometimes I still do

Wednesday, Jul. 14, 2004
5:37 PM

Why is it that when I have something to write about, I have no time to write, but when I have time, I have nothing to write about? And how the hell did it get to be Wednesday and mid-July so fast? The mysteries of the universe...

So life continues apace. We hadn't planned to go to Assessments last weekend, but someone wearing a pointy hat told us we should be there (and no, it wasn't Balynar). So glad we were, of course, and a mad W00T!! to Sir Bryce de Byram. One of the few who truly understand the medieval (as opposed to pseudo-Victorian) concepts of knighthood. The vigil setup was lovely, and I really liked the corridor to the tent lit by torches and decorated with knight banners. Sadly, we did not stay up all night to wait our turn to talk to Byram - we were camping at the Mom 'n' Dad B&B, which was about an hour away over the mountains. From what I've heard, we would have gotten in at about 4am, which does not make for a happy Laurel the next day (or a happy fighting Pelican, either, I suspect). Anyway, the ceremony was touching, as knightings always are, weighty with the solemn tradition that has grown around them. Yes, as Balynar points out, this is just a game that we play, but at the same time, it's not. I feel sad that someone out there cannot find a balance in that.

I spent most of the rest of the day at Assessments perched on the upper level of the wooden pavilion, where I managed to catch the few breezes that came through during the first part of the day. If it hadn't been for the company of friends, I would have been pretty bored - I have GOT to cut out a new sewing project, just to have something to do at events. The storms that rolled through were a god-send, though I'm sure the fighters were disappointed to be called off the field. Or maybe they weren't - I certainly can't imagine doing melee combat in such weather.

It was good to visit with my folks, as always, and of course, to play with my niece. She is picking up new words every day, always an exciting and amazing time in a little kid's life. She has a name for my mother now - she calls her "Minah", which translates to "Grandma" I guess. This to go with "Goga" who is Grandpa, my dad. I am something like "N'Jees" or Aunt Jess (which she is allowed to call me only by virtue of being related to me by blood). I don't know that she's really come out with anything for her Uncle Kevin yet, but I thought I heard her say "Unk" once or twice. She is helping her Goga paint the dining room, and she even knows that you have to dip the brush in the paint pan every now and then (OK, so no actual paint was present during this exercise, but that's beside the point). I wish I got to see her more often.

So back to the grind this week. Bosslady has either realized that I am not, in fact, a complete moron, or is just distracted by other things. She was pretty cranky yesterday but didn't take it out on me... much. How forcefully can you tell your boss that there actually are two Rs in "Marrakech"? I am coming up on my one-year anniversary next month and still hoping I can quit soon. I have a couple of commissions in the works so I'm getting closer. Really excited about Liz's kitchen piece which is going to be very snazzy when done. Meeting with Caitlyn/Cindy tonight to talk about hers. Still lots to do but I'm plugging away.

Five weeks later and I'm still going to Curves (sorry D&E, I know I'm fraternizing with the competition, but there's one a mile from my house - I haven't seen any LWE locations near here at all). I'm very happy that it seems to be easy to stick to - I haven't gotten bored or tired of it and I'm seeing some modest results. After a month I've lost a total of 6.75 inches. I've actually gained pounds, but I have always heard that is normal. I'm seeing the ghost of an actual bicep muscle, and very possibly a tricep in there as well. The evil squat machine is slightly less evil as time goes on. So, we shall continue on! Hopefully as that new-found muscle kicks in, I'll drop a few pounds as well, but as long as I'm headed in the right direction, I'm not too worried about it. It is hard to break out of that mental habit, though, of cringing when the scale stops at a higher number than it did last week. It seems to go against all rational thought. Sigh.

Well, I have a ton of things left to do this evening. My to-do list is growing faster than it's shrinking.

Ciao!


ProfileDiaryland