Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

Wedded Bliss

Thursday, May. 13, 2004
4:03 PM

Yeah, I know - I haven't updated my diary in a couple of weeks. I've been a little busy.

So we're married now - hooray! Sounds like most everybody had a good time at the wedding, which went great. The whole day went by fast, but very smoothly. We had our one cliffhanger moment with Kevin's tuxedo, but fortunately that came in in time and was not a problem. The weather was great, maybe a little on the hot side but not nearly as bad as Friday or Sunday. At least it didn't rain! We would have dealt if it had, but it was much nicer to have the ceremony out on the back veranda by the gardens.

What an amazing day - it was more intense and emotional and joyous than I could have imagined beforehand. It went by really fast - much of the day is pretty much a blur, but I expected that. A minor regret that all our friends and family were together in one place to celebrate us yet there's not enough time to really chat with anyone. Still great to see everyone, even if only briefly. I was never the type to dream about my wedding as a child but if I did, this was the wedding of my dreams. The most important thing, though, was that I married the man of my dreams and my best friend. Everything else was a bonus!

We had a nice brunch with family on Sunday (Jason, Shannon and Regan are family) and then we headed off on a two-day mini-moon in Williamsburg and Richmond. A nice, relaxing time spent decompressing and just enjoying each other's company. Hard to come back to the real world, where we have to go to work and do the dishes, but that sweet goofy feeling lingers. Waking up next to my husband, getting used to my new name, all those little things that will eventually become normal and familiar. It's nice to be a newlywed - and nice to have the stress of planning the wedding behind us.

We took the digital camera down with us, but I don't think we ever got any pictures with it, except for maybe a few at the rehearsal dinner. But I'm sure plenty of folks took pictures and hopefully we can get a few. I'll post what I can. If all else fails we'll scan some that we get from the photographer.

And just because I'm a bibliophile at heart, I'll jump on the bandwagon:

1. Grab the nearest book.

2. Open the book to page 23.

3. Find the fifth sentence (not line, sentence).

4. Post the text of the sentence in your journal along with these instructions.

"But Yukiko was daughter to Niu Masamune, lord of Satsuma and Osumi Provinces and one of the wealthiest, most powerful daimyo."

--Shinju, by Laura Joh Rowland

Ciao!


ProfileDiaryland