Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

"I did nothing. I did nothing and it was everything I hoped it could be."

Tuesday, Apr. 20, 2004
3:34 PM

I called in sick to work yesterday. It wasn't one of those "it's a beautiful day and I can't bear to be inside" kind of things... I really was sick. I didn't get a chance to stay home and rest over the weekend so I made my opportunity. No being productive, no running errands, no cleaning the house (except for one load of dishes). Ah, bliss...

Last week was non-stop. Friday afternoon Kevin and I went for our marriage license, which was an amusing adventure in itself. (Ask us sometime what the deputy clerk of court gave us in a bag marked "Newlywed Kit" - and no, it's not what you think.) We then went to talk to our photographer. Actually, it was more like our photographer talking to us - she's certainly loquacious, if nothing else. But we really liked her and her approach to photography, and her work is really nice. The only thing I am possibly afraid of is getting stuck in a conversation with her!

After we extracted ourselves from the photog, we headed to my parents' house for pizza, visiting my sister's new house (she hasn't moved in yet, still needs to do some painting, etc) and playing with my niece. Final fitting on the wedding dress, and pinning the hem. More planning, details, etc etc etc. Whew! It was a nice, though brief visit, and Mom was much less stressed than when I had talked to her on the phone the night before. I left feeling much better, aside from the fact that my throat was starting to hurt.

Saturday was my shower, organized by my sister, hosted by Shannon and cooked for by Mom. The weather was beautiful and the party was lovely. My mom and sister got to meet a bunch of friends, and my friends got to see how cute my niece is. Cailin provided endless entertainment as she toddled around. I about melted into a giant puddle when I caught sight of Regan giving Cailin a kiss - it was the cutest thing ever! I wish I'd had a camera, but I would have had to be ready to take a picture on the spot. Wendy brought cheery yellow flowers and Sue baked an amazing cake. It was a really nice time.

Kevin came over with his dad, who was picking up his mom, at the "official" end of the shower, and then we spent the rest of the afternoon and evening hanging out with Jason, Shannon & Regan, Susie & David and Liz. I was feeling pretty pooped but was having too much fun to go home.

Sunday was not as much fun as it should have been. I was not feeling all that well and getting the finished table out of the basement to deliver it to my client proved to be the biggest pain ever. We were about two hours late to Gen's house for the lovely brunch that she threw us. Sorry about that to all the people who were waiting for us so patiently! Sigh. Sometimes life conspires against you.

The actual delivery of the table went really well, though. We got the legs re-attached and the table carried up to the patio without incident. My client loved the table and had her payment ready for me. I'm hoping she'll show all her friends and I'll get more commissions. =) We do have pictures but still have to download them from the camera and manipulate them to a manageable size. We used the highest resolution setting on the camera so the files are HUGE. I'll post them as soon as I can.

That brings me to yesterday. The day of doing nothing. I'm feeling better today, so I can't really indulge in another day of just sitting around web surfing. Still have lots of stuff to do, but I'm feeling much less stressed so I'm ready to pick up where I left off. Just have to get organized again. Where's my planner?

Ciao!


ProfileDiaryland