Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

So much for brevity

Tuesday, Apr. 06, 2004
7:56 PM

Coronation was lovely, as many people have noted. The whole weekend feels like a bit of a whirlwind, but I had lots of fun and had a really good day. Hate to fall back on bests and worsts but I have stuff to do tonight, yet I want to write down my experience and thoughts.

Bests (in no particular order)

Beautiful weather

Beautiful site

Seeing good friends, too many to name but glad to have at least a little time with all (OK, most) of them

Attending Kyneburh and Ragnarr's last court, seeing friends receive well-deserved awards. Being released as a retainer, feeling like I had actually made a difference during the reign. A little bittersweet knowing I will not likely serve in that role again - I don't feel that it would be appropriate now that I am a Peer.

Seeing Cuan and Padraigin crowned. They always do things with a high level of spiff and I know their second reign will be as good as the first. Later watching Kyneburh and Rags receive their Ducal rank.

Seeing Susanna put on vigil, the dawning realization and stunned giggles, thinking that must have been what I looked like a month ago.

Seeing cool stuff on display for A&S - especially nice to know I helped someone who asked for my assistance, hoping I can continue to make A&S a positive experience for up and coming artisans

Serving feast - haven't done that in a long time and had forgotten that it is fun! Got to hang with some of the Seareach folks who are uber cool.

Retainer party! Sharing the Buttery Nipple love (courtesy of Benefse the mixed drink trend setter) and watching Her Grace Duchess Kyneburh put that blender to good use. Nice way to unwind after a busy day, nice way to celebrate the end of a busy reign.

Worsts (largely things nobody had any control over)

Traffic getting out of DC - some of the worst I've sat through in a long time. It took us between two and a half and three hours to get to Fredericksburg (normally only an hour). It was a good thing we left early cause the entire trip took about nine hours.

Being a light sleeper sucks. I think I'm done with cabin camping. Not anybody's fault, but any small noise keeps me awake, and snoring just puts me over the edge. I slept in the car Friday night and let me tell you, it's not as comfy as the truck. I think I got about four and a half hours of sleep.

Firsts

First time welcoming a new member into the Order of the Laurel (in person anyway). I wish I had been able to be there for Bera's elevation but it was not to be. It was neat to be there for Susanna, who also truly deserves the accolade. Interesting and different to see everything from the other side.

First time to be recognized and introduced by a person I know only on sight but not by name. This happens to Kevin all the time but not to me. A lot of different emotions attached to that experience - amusement, flattery, guilt (for not knowing the person's name)... A very strange thing for me.

First brush with Peer fear, though I was not there to actually witness it. Feeling amused and even a little ironic as I remember a time not that long ago when I felt nervous approaching Peers and wasn't sure what to say. Realizing that it is both a silly thing and a valid feeling. Interesting to view it from both sides of the fence.

Sunday was a long drive back, with a stop in Norfolk to help Jason & Shannon pick up a TV and the added bonus to the weekend of having dinner with Rich & Genie. The side trip extended the drive home but seeing best friends is always worth it. Exhausted when we finally arrived home and dropped into bed. I've felt a little out of it for a few days, from lack of consistent sleep and difficulty adjusting to DST. I think I'm getting back into the swing of things but I needed a vacation after my weekend. I have a lot of things from the event that I need to mentally chew on for a while - though I'm the same person, my whole game has changed and there is a lot to reflect on. I think I must be channeling Dame Anne.

OK, been working on this way too long (so much for bulleted brevity) and I should go be productive.

Ciao!


ProfileDiaryland