Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

Catching up

Thursday, Feb. 26, 2004
2:23 PM

Um, OK, so this may wind up as a filler entry just so people don't think I've fallen down a well or something. Not that there are any random wells just lying around in Herndon for me to fall into. But anyway...

It's been a busy but productive week. Been working more on the table project, which is going well and shows signs of possibly being finished before I die. Been working on a couple of sewing projects but nothing that is really making me stretch. Mostly been working on wedding stuff, which is also coming along nicely. I think we may have the last Big Thing nailed down (the cake) and the Small Things, of which there are many, are getting done as well. Still have a long list of things to do but checking items off is so very satisfying.

We had a nice time at the Ponte Alto event, despite the blatant LIES of the weather people - 60 degrees my ass. Obviously even the best autocrat (except maybe Nikulai) has no control over the weather so this does not count as a complaint against the event. I was fighting off a mini-cold so did not have much energy but had a good time anyway. Callig'ed a bunch of promissories in the royal closet and had fun (What? Another one??) doing that. Also nice to see local folks get recognition for their hard work. Good to see Ranulf elevated to the Laurel for his woodworking skill, reminding me that it is possible for very quiet people to be recognized with the highest orders. Maybe there is hope for me too. We did not stay for feast as we had Bill & Erin with us who were also not on-board, but we had a good dinner out and then lots of fun guests at our place for hanging out and schmoozing. Padraigin brought stuff for s'mores so we built a lovely fire in the fireplace and warmed our bones after the windy, chilly day. We all crashed out around 1:30 am, though we could have kept going had half of us not fallen asleep somewhere in the living room.

I have been out running errands today, being (mostly) successful. I think I will go for one more, though it's in Alexandria, which is a little bit of a hike from here. But I need a new calligraphy pen, and Pearl Art Supply is the only place around here that carries Platignums. If I go now, I should get back before rush hour starts.

One of my other errands was to pick up a birthday present for my niece who just turned 1 this week. So I was looking at cute little board books, and I found one on the life of Thomas Jefferson. It's hilarious! I had to get it, since she lives near Charlottesville, where they still talk about TJ as though he'll walk through the door at any moment. I think my parents will like it more than she will. Had to get it. I also got her a more usual little kid book about a goose, just to even out the bizarreness of the other one.

OK, must head out now.

Ciao!


ProfileDiaryland