Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

Weekend Update... who were you expecting, Norm MacDonald?

Monday, Jan. 26, 2004
10:49 AM

Because I have a metric crapload of stuff to do today (before I have to go back to work tomorrow), I will attempt to make this short without making it brusque.

Weekend Best & Worst

Best:

-Going to an event that did not require overnight travel (Stierbach Investiture).

-Getting to hang out with and actually spend some time with friends, some of whom I don't get to see that much

-Being honored and humbled by induction into the Queen's Order of Courtesy by Her Majesty Kyneburh (with a medallion I helped (unknowingly) thread onto a cord before court) - and then being further humbled by people telling me it was well-deserved

-Standing guard at Ilse's vigil with my sewing awl as a weapon (and Theo making me say "I'm giving it my awl")

-Fun with big obnoxious Italian hats! I took the balzo with me on a whim, but I'm glad I did. Will have to re-engineer the hair style next time, but the combs anchored it well and I managed to wear it for several hours before I felt a headache coming on.

-Watching Ilse's chin quiver during her elevation ceremony. A more helpful, clueful, cheerful person I can't imagine. Hooray for Mistress Ilse!

-Going out for dinner with my sweetie and ten friends after the event.

Worst:

-The freezing, bone-aching cold. I could really have done without that.

-Kevin taking a shot to the forearm, which already had a bone bruise from a similar shot at practice last week. Having to give him the hairy eyeball when he suggested that he would be OK to go back to the bearpit later.

As you can see, the bests far outweight the worsts. I got warm again (eventually) and Kevin's arm is basically OK but for a magnificent bruise spreading from wrist almost to elbow. I had an absolute blast at the event, probably the most fun in the SCA that I've had in a very long time. All the more surprising because I wasn't expecting to. I'm feeling refreshed and re-energized, and ready for the very hectic event schedule that is coming up. This is a very good thing!

My good mood spilled over to Sunday, which turned out to be very productive. Got the master bath cleaned up, for the first time in far too long, and started on tidying up the bedroom, also badly needed. Then Kev and I went and got wedding invitations and shoes (OK, shoes for me). Met with Liz about a jewelry commission and then headed over to the fabulous Smiths' for dinner. Stayed up way too late and drove home in the snow.

OK, I was trying to keep this short because I have laundry and cleaning to do, work on the table to accomplish and sewing projects to contemplate. So I'll leave it at that and get to work.

Ciao!


ProfileDiaryland