Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

Coming out of my Food Coma

Friday, Nov. 28, 2003
8:12 AM

Happy Birthday to me! (Yes, I'm fishin' for birthday wishes... it ain't every day a girl turns 30!)

I hope everybody had a lovely Thanksgiving! Kevin and I went to his parents' house for dinner with his folks, his sister and her boyfriend. Dinner was yummy - I ate too much and nearly fell asleep in the living room. We celebrated my birthday a little early and had an ice cream cake - well, frozen custard actually, but it was darn tasty either way. It had two candles, a 3 and a 0, and the 3 also had Pooh Bear on it. It was very cute.

This was my first Thanksgiving in my life that wasn't spent at my uncle's house, but I know Kevin's mom was happy to have her family all home, so it was a good time. I did kind of miss my mom and my uncle singing together in the kitchen as they did the dishes, but then, nobody has ever accused either of them of having the best singing voices, so maybe I didn't miss it all that much. It's a bit of a family joke: Mom and Uncle Earl start singing "Give Me That Old Time Religion", my dad rolls his eyes and everyone else leaves the room to go watch the football game. Wouldn't be Thanksgiving without it!

Kevin and I went to go see Timeline the other day. It's one of the few books he's read and actually liked. The movie was pretty good - though don't go if you're bent on seeing authentic armor or clothing - and it was a fast two hours. Lots of fun... they even managed to get in some explosions to further the guy-appeal. As usual, the book was better, since the movie left out a lot of the details, but all in all it was fun. Don't expect to see it nominated for an Oscar or anything.

We still haven't seen Matrix: Revolutions yet.

Rich and Genie are coming up this afternoon and we're going to the Caps game tonight. They have to win - it's my birthday and I'm their good luck charm. All the same, I'm keeping my fingers crossed.

It's going to be a fun weekend. I'm still hoping to be able to get my tattoo, but as I'm still coughing and congested from my cold, I'm not sure that's a good idea. I will probably wait until I know my immune system is at 100% again before I take the plunge - I'm bummed but basically OK with that. I can wait a little longer if necessary.

Ciao!


ProfileDiaryland