Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

Catching up

Thursday, Oct. 09, 2003
3:46 PM

I feel like I have been running around like a crazy person for the last few weeks, hence the lack of diary updates. I'm thinking that after this weekend life will settle down at least a little bit. Whew. I still have stuff to do, but less of it and not all on deadlines. And some of it will even make me some money!

I have finished projects, taught my class, gotten caught up on email and maybe even (keep your fingers crossed) nailed down a site for our wedding. It feels good to have gotten some stuff accomplished, and to be able to breathe a little bit again. Too bad none of that stuff has included any sort of housekeeping... but I'll get to that probably tomorrow, at least some of it.


I relieved another bit of stress by going up to Fells Point and picking up my mosaic pieces that were in the store there. Kevin once again showed how much he loves me by driving me up there in rush hour traffic. I had been tossing around the idea for a while of just getting my stuff out of there - it's been there since June and I've gotten exactly two communications from them in those three+ months, and if you'll recall from my rant back then, we had some difficulties over pricing. I didn't even know one of my smaller pieces had sold until we went there yesterday. But I have other customers interested in some of the items so it works out anyway. I've got a lead on another store that might be interested, so we'll see how that goes. I have to get hold of them first.

We had a nice end to the day by stopping at Gen and Alan's for dinner with them and the Wendy. Since we are not often in their neck of the woods it was a nice chance to visit and catch up.


So now my main source of stress is my job. The bosslady is driving me crazy, and I'm seriously considering looking for another job. Most people generally don't appreciate being micro-managed to death and/or being treated like a retarded four year old. I am no exception. Being paid is good but I've repeatedly asked myself if it's worth it. I guess it still is, but rapidly becoming less so. I won't quit until I have another job, but I'll be gritting my teeth a lot so as not to say anything regrettable.


Other than that, life is generally good these days. I get to see my folks, my sister and my niece next week. I get to play with Cailin all day next Tuesday! I am hoping she has changed her mind about Kevin - last time we were down there she cried whenever he tried to hold her. I think she was just cranky then or something because she's never had a problem with him before. She is teething, after all.


I had a really good time at University last weekend - had a nice little girls' road trip with Sue, Kirsten and Cosette, great travel companions. My class that I taught went fairly well, though since it was at the end of the day, I'm afraid people were a bit tired and suffering from full brains. I know I was! It was fun though. I took some nice hands-on classes and now know how to do bead embroidery and flat 2-color braids on my lucet. Good for trim and such. I learned how to play some fun card games - including Primero, which is why I signed up. Trying to learn as many Italian things as I can, which is also why I took that dance class at Pennsic, which was lots of fun. Gotta be a well-rounded persona!


I think I'm going to go practice my bead embroidery, which I've been itching to do all week but haven't had time, before Kevin and I head out to the Caps season opener. It's my first pro hockey game and I'm looking forward to it!

Ciao!


ProfileDiaryland