Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

She works hard for the money

Tuesday, Sept. 09, 2003
9:53 PM

So it's my third week at my new job. I'm starting to get into the rhythm of things, figuring out where everything is and learning some of the finer points of MS software. Bosslady left today for a two week trip, so my hours are going to be light. I'm OK with that - last week I was working almost full time. I forgot how little time there is for doing any stuff around the house when you're working somewhere else. I've had a few moments of "Why am I doing this again?" but then I remember, "Oh yeah, for the money..." I am in the HR system now so I will actually be getting a paycheck next week! WooHoo!

Some days are better than others. Yesterday I was a genius because I figured out how to scan stuff with the Brother multi-function thingy (printer/fax/scanner/copier). Today I was an idiot because I sent an email with the wrong subject line and had to recall it. As I predicted, there have been some problems of the You-mean-you're-not-psychic? variety - extremely frustrating. I dislike being lectured about not doing something I wasn't told to do. I shouldn't complain too much - most of the time things are fine, and I'm sure the rough spots will get better over time, as I get to the top of the learning curve. It's just that now I'm remembering why I wanted to work for myself.

On a more positive note, I had a grand time at Coronation. Kevin and I, along with the Smiths, set up our pavilion as dayshade right by the field and pulled out all the stops. We set up our Glastonbury chairs, rugs, benches, tables, etc. and had a nice little hospitality spread for folks to come by and share. We tried really hard to keep modern items hidden from view. It was really nice to have people stop by and hang out for a bit all day. I had fun attending Her Majesty, especially watching the rapier fighters. We missed the deadline for the above-the-salt feast but the below-the-salt one was really yummy! It was actually the perfect amount of food - usually feasts are way too much food for me, I'm stuffed by the end of the first or second course.

Now that I'm going to have a little more free time this week, I can get some stuff done around the house and work on projects. I did a bunch of dishes, tidied up the living room a bit and sorted through stuff on the kitchen table. I'll keep up the effort tomorrow when I get home, and then hopefully get some prep work done on a mosaic project that has to be done SOON. My fabric for my Knight of the Heart project arrived today, so I can start on that too. Still have lots to do but for some reason I'm feeling less stressed about it all now than I was last week. Maybe because of the looser schedule this week and next.

I think I'm out of things to say for now, so....

Ciao!


ProfileDiaryland