Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

Didn't you get that memo about your TPS reports?

Friday, Aug. 29, 2003
11:24 AM

Wow - this week has been kinda crazy. As I posted in my last entry, I am now a member of the duly employed masses. It all happened really fast: Monday I submitted my resume, Tuesday I had an interview, and Wednesday I started work. I technically work for a large company that makes products both for veterinarians and for testing water supplies, but really I work in a home office for a government affairs/marketing manager who works for that company. My boss works with the EPA and governments of other countries on water testing regulations and stuff like that. Fascinating stuff, I'm sure. Anyway, I'm your basic admin grunt, but it's work and (more importantly) it's money.

So I can see why Bosslady wanted me to start right away - she travels a lot and she'll be going on an extended trip in a couple of weeks. So she wanted her new admin to get familiar with the office and files, etc before she leaves. I can appreciate that - I've certainly had to hit the ground running. It's a little weird to be working in someone's house - she telecommutes when she's not traveling - but I'm sure that will get less weird as time goes on. So far the job is fine, though I think we may have a few problems of the "why-can't-you-read-my-mind?" variety, but again, as I get more familiar with where everything is I'm sure that will get better. I had a couple of frustrating moments yesterday but got a lot done. It's that whole new job/transition/learning curve thing.

Since the job is only part-time, I should generally have Mondays and Fridays off, which should leave some time for working on other things. I need to finish up an estimate for my table client and hopefully get approval on it soon, and I want to work on a project for the SAMA gallery show next January (slides have to be submitted by October 1!). I've got some costuming stuff I want to work on as well, of course. So I have less time in which to get these things done, but of course the tradeoff is continuing to pay my bills. Always a good thing. Anyway, that means I should go get to work!

Oh, yeah:

Horse
What Is Your Animal Personality?

brought to you by Quizilla

And last but not least: HAPPY BIRTHDAY PUCKEATER!

Ciao!


ProfileDiaryland