Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

Hopeful Job News

Tuesday, Aug. 26, 2003
3:59 PM

Well, it looks likely that I will be joining the employed masses pretty soon. I don't think I'm jinxing it by saying anything. I interviewed this morning for a part time office assistant position. It's in a home office, so it should be pretty laid back. I'm reasonably sure that I'll get the job - the lady that I'll be working for is calling around and checking my references. Hopefully I'll be able to start next week.

It'll be great if this works out, I would love to not have to do any more job-hunting. I know I'll feel more secure financially and still have some time to work on my business. My funk from last week is lifting and I have a lot of hope for the foreseeable future.


Naturally, my mosaic client has finally decided what tiles she wants so I can move forward with that project. I might have to push out my timeline on finishing the table, but I don't think she's in a big hurry for it.


We had a nice, relaxing weekend. We didn't even leave the house on Saturday. Watched Catch Me if You Can on Friday night - that was a fun movie, and actually more thought provoking than I had thought it would be. Saturday we slept in a bit, and mostly worked on a new web page for me. It isn't ready yet but will be soon and then I'll post the URL. It's just a place to put up pictures of my projects, class notes, articles, that sort of thing. Hard to find time to work on it, but we'll probably do some more this weekend if not in the evenings this week.

Sunday we tidied up the house a little, did a little grocery shopping, read the paper... fun lazy stuff. It was really nice to have a weekend that was not spent at an event, or working on stuff for an event, or travelling somewhere. Looking forward to another weekend like that in a few days, then the craziness of September begins. We're doing Coronation, then a work weekend for KotH stuff, then Chalice of the Sun God, then Knight of the Heart. After that is University, then Crusades. I think after that we get to take a break. I am looking forward to all of these events, but I'm sure that I'll need a break when we're done. Whew!


I found this quiz on a diary page that I got to by randomly clicking a banner that said "History is Fun." I'm sure there are a few other geeks out there who will enjoy this one.

Princess Anna Comnena
You are: ANNA COMNENA (1083-1153). Anna never
became Empress, which left her bitter and
disappointed. However, she was a brilliant
historian and writer-- and she achieved far
greater fame than any ruler as author of The
Alexiad, the story of her father's reign.



Which Byzantine Empress Are You?
brought to you by Quizilla

Ciao!

Update: I got the job! I start TOMORROW! It'll just be for a few hours, to fill out paperwork and get acquainted with the office and files, etc. Yay me!


ProfileDiaryland