Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

Toons! Er... tunes!

Thursday, May. 15, 2003
5:26 PM

Ugh. I'm having serious computer issues today. This laptop is old, cranky and needs a major overhaul. Netscape crashed/rebooted itself and now all my bookmarks are gone (for the second or third time). I've been trying to resize an image to use in a mosaic and I can't get it to print the right size. I just started a diary entry and the computer ate it before I finished (which, given my luck today, I had a feeling was going to happen). I'm now typing this in Notepad and I'll just cut and paste when I'm done.

So, trying again...

Here are my seven picks for my life's CD.

#1 "Take It Easy" - The Eagles. This song reminds me to not get too spun up over things I have no control over. It's like a good friend saying, "Chill out. It'll be fine." I need that sometimes.

#2 "The Dreaming Tree" - Dave Matthews Band. A loss of innocence. At first I had a hard time listening to this song because it affected me in a very weird,scary, almost horrifying way, like a nightmare. But it really relates to certain parts of my life and resonates in the darker parts of my soul.

#3 "Thing of Beauty" - Hothouse Flowers. This song pretty much sums up my philosophy on art and life: Don't just look for things of beauty; take the time to truly appreciate them because they are so important for our well-being. This borders on the religious for me.

#4 "Watershed" - Indigo Girls. This relates to stuff I was going through a couple of years ago, having to make a decision I didn't want to make. "Standing at the fork in the road/You can stand there and agonize/Til your agony's your heaviest load..."

#5 "Just Wait" - Blues Traveler. I had a hard time picking between this one and "Stand". This one makes me think a lot about struggling through depression and self-pity. It's about relying on friends to help you get through the tough times.

#6. "Wide Open Spaces" - Dixie Chicks. About growing up and finding out who you are. Making mistakes and learning from them. Coming of age. For me this was going to college and becoming my own person. My favorite line is "As her folks drive away/Her dad yells 'Check the oil!'" Reminds me of my dad.

#7. "Superman" - REM. I love this song because it's happy and upbeat and it's all about feeling like you can do anything and you're invincible. Everybody needs a song like this.

Unlike everybody else, it wasn't hard for me to pick just seven songs. I like a lot of music, but there aren't that many pieces that really speak to me or are really significant. There are a few more that got left off the list, but mostly by the same artists.I have a lot of favorite songs, but they don't all speak to me the same way these do.

Ciao!


ProfileDiaryland