Older Entries

Newest Entry

Guestbook

Site Meter

Wheel! Of! Fortune!

Wednesday, May. 14, 2003
1:52 PM

It's Wednesday so I am watching Regan today. She is currently napping on her blanket on the floor. There is much that is good about a sleeping baby. =)

Life is really good right now. As y'all all know by now, Kevin is starting work this week at his "real job". We have been waiting for this for so long, it's hard to believe it's finally here. Now that he's all good to go, job security will pretty much never be an issue again. This is such a huge relief given the instability of much of the corporate world these days. Just goes to show, good things DO come to those who wait.

And oddly enough, I have been really motivated to be productive this week.

All of this sort of puts me in mind of the medieval allegorical figure of Fortune - I remember reading lots about this in Boethius in college. The wheel image figures prominently in his Consolation of Philosophy - at some point in everyone's life, you're stuck at the bottom of the wheel, and Fortune deals you a crappy hand. But eventually, the wheel turns and you find yourself on top. I don't think we're quite at the pinnacle yet, but I feel the wheel turning and I know that we're not on down at the low end of the cycle anymore. Counting my blessings these days...

I'm thinking pretty seriously about rejoining the Points Cult again, when we've got a little more cash to spare. I've regained most if not all of the weight I lost on the program a couple of years ago. I started regaining even when I was still attending meetings, but I was under a lot of stress then. And then I got laid off and couldn't afford to go anymore. I've not been getting a lot of exercise and I know I'm not controlling my portion sizes very well either. So I'd like to get back to a structured program - I just hope I can stay motivated on it.

This society is so screwed up in it's attitude towards food and weight. On the one hand, we're all supposed to look like models and be able to climb Mt. Everest whenever we feel like it. On the other, we're supposed to love ourselves for who and what we are and accept whatever physical form that we've ended up with. On yet another hand, we live in such an abundant culture that enormous food portions are the norm now, not to mention laden with fat and calories. Plus it's more expensive to eat in a healthful manner than not! It's no wonder so many of us are overweight. What exactly are we supposed to believe? I don't understand why our society doesn't make it easier to eat healthfully, especially when eating out. Look how well Subway has done after promoting the hell out of Mr. Weight Loss Man. I wish more places would focus on good food and less on getting more bang (and more fat) for your buck.

Well, Her Cuteness is stirring so I better go. I'll do my 7 song compilation tomorrow. I gotta think about it some more anyway.

Ciao!


ProfileDiaryland